Can you control a Mac Pro through a Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jake0604, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Jake0604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #1
    I am going off to college to live in a dorm in the fall and won't have room for a normal desktop setup. I was wondering if there was a way to use a Macbook Air as the monitor, keyboard, and mouse for a 2012 mac pro. Not using remote desktop as that tends to be slow and inefficient. This way I would only have to make room for the tower and not all the other stuff too.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    The keyboard, trackpad, and screen are all hard wired to the laptop. There are no external connections for them to be connected to another computer.

    Remote Desktop (screen sharing in OS X) is the only way I can think of to do this, but as you've already noted, it's not the same thing as a direct connection.
     
  3. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    No, I don't think so. But I think there is a way you can do something similar with an iPad and a Bluetooth Keyboard and Mouse. There is an all (whose name escapes me) that allows you to use an iPad screen as the monitor for your Mac via USB, and then use a small BT keybaord & mouse to navigate. It makes for a VERY small setup. I used it once with an Intel NUC running OS X. Otherwise, you might just want to consider downsizing peripherals. Small monitor, wireless keyboard & mouse. I know dorms can be rather unaccommodating for desktops...
     
  4. jmcube macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #4
    I used my MBP screen (via TB) and a bluetooth keyboard and mouse to control my MP last year.

    JM
     
  5. dan_darling macrumors newbie

    dan_darling

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #5
    I have been trying to figure this out for weeks now. Its so strange that apple is making the most portable hex core machine ever yet it cant be controlled with their ultra portable laptops? Come on!
     
  6. jmcube macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #6
    The technique I had wasn't ideal but was pretty simple. By not ideal I mean that there was a small delay with my screen... I wouldn't want to play games on it.

    I think it was Screen Sharing plus something else maybe?

    I used it that way in 3 hotels in Europe. In the US (and in Chile) I was in an office and could find a screen.

    JM
     
  7. cerberusss macrumors 6502a

    cerberusss

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Even with a direct gigabit network connection? I can't imagine that.
     
  8. shaunp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #8
    You will need a monitor, keyboard and mouse for the initial setup of the Mac Pro, but you can then use Team Viewer and a whole load of other remote desktop stuff. Team Viewer works pretty well, but none of the remote desktop apps on the Mac are a patch on what's available for Windows. It's good enough if for example you are running VM's on your Mac Pro and want to instigate setup of the VM's before you remote desktop directly to them. If you are running apps like Photoshop on the Mac Pro then the experience via remote desktop of any kind will be terrible, even over gigabit ethernet.
     
  9. TitouDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    #9
    I do this at home...
    A MP with Ethernet Gigabite connection and my MBPr hooked to a LED Cinema Display 27.
    For normal task everything is fine, and for gaming, I boot the MP on W8 and with steam I can play remotely 1440p without issue !
     
  10. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #10
    Duet?
     
  11. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #11
    Yes! Yes! That's it!
     
  12. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #12
    Downloaded it but don’t use it. I wanted to be able to control my Macs over a network, (or rather be able to use an iDevice as a dumb terminal). I can’t believe Apple haven’t jumped on this.
     
  13. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #13
    :D You're in the Mac Pro forum. We're the kings of "I can't believe Apple hasn't jumped on this." :D
     
  14. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #14
    Good point. I’ll rephrase, I’m disappointed but not surprised that Apple hasn't jumped on this.
     
  15. buster84, Jun 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2015

    buster84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #15
    Edit: never mind it was mentioned lol
     

Share This Page