Can you do aftermarket ram with RMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yalag, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. yalag macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    Can you do aftermarket ram with RMBP? I saw that you can buy the ram for RMBP in macsales.com but I just read an article that says the ram is soldered on the board. What gives?
     
  2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
  4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #5
    You cannot upgrade the RAM in the Retina Macbook Pro. You have to order it with what you want it to have.

    The only possible way to upgrade the RAM later on would be to replace the entire logic board.

    Here's a picture of what it looks like inside:

    http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/wjQEMuXtw61X1ZHI

    The RAM is the two even rows of chips in the center.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    The RAM is soldered, so it can't be upgraded. The RAM on the OWC site is for the non-retina MBPs.
    There are no aftermarket options for RAM on the retina MBP. The RAM cannot be upgraded.
     
  6. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    Furthermore macsales doesn't sell RAM for the retina MBP.


    "Not for MacBook Pro 15" with Retina Display"
     
  7. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #8
    What's a scam?

    jW
     
  8. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #9
    I was assuming they had found a site saying they had RAM for it.
     

Share This Page