Can you "doc" a MacBook w/ Powermac for video?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Toby Goodbar, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. Toby Goodbar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #1
    Can you "dock" a MacBook w/ Powermac for video?

    I want to know if there's any way I can send MacBook video to my powermac g5 to use it's 22" monitor.

    Preferably through an Ethernet cable or USB to USB or other wired cord?
     
  2. NP3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    As far as i know, the best you could do is use a kvm switcher to go between the cable going to the macbook and the cable going to the G5. Going directly into the G5 would require some sort of input on the graphics cards, which on macs do not exist (afaik).
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    Yeah, you would just need a way to plug the monitor into your MacBook as well. If it has multiple inputs, then you could get a cable and adapter for the one that your PowerMac isn't using
     
  4. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #4

Share This Page