Can you have Photo Booth default to save to Desktop?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BGTHEMOGUL, May 3, 2011.

  1. BGTHEMOGUL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #1
    Exactly as the title reads. Is it possible to make Photo Booth save all photos to the Desktop by default instead of the Users/Pictures/Photo Booth folder?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Why not put an alias to that folder on the Desktop?
     
  3. BGTHEMOGUL thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #3
    Because I don't want them going to that folder at all. I like to email a picture and delete it right after or drag and drop it to the appropriate folder.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You do know that you can drag pics directly from Photo Booth to your Desktop or email or other location, then delete them in Photo Booth, so nothing is saved in the /username/Photo Booth folder, right?
     
  5. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #5
    Make an alias TO the desktop and rename it Photo Booth. Delete the Photo Booth folder out of pictures, and put the alias in its place.
     
  6. BGTHEMOGUL thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #6
    All that will do is make me have to do an extra step and now the picture is located in two places. Both the original folder and the alias. I don't want to go to the current photo booth folder and drag and drop the image to the desktop or where I need it to be. I simply wanted the save directory to default to desktop. Based on your answers and suggestions I'm assuming it's not possible to change the default save directory? That makes zero sense.
     
  7. GGJstudios, May 4, 2011
    Last edited: May 4, 2011

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    That's not true. An alias is just a shortcut, pointing to a location. If you use that method, there will only be one copy of the pic.
    You never have to go to the Photo Booth folder. As I said, you can drag the pics directly from the Photo Booth app to whatever folder you want, or to your Mail icon, to email it. You don't need to touch Finder at all, if you don't want to.
    There is no setting in Photo Booth to allow changing the default folder. Perfectly acceptable alternative solutions have been offered that will accomplish what you want, yet you reject them because you want the software to do something it's not designed to do. Now what makes zero sense?
     
  8. BGTHEMOGUL thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #8
    Everything you're saying makes zero sense and does not accomplish what I'm looking to do. Also the fact they would make software that you cannot change the save location is the utmost stupidest thing I've ever heard of in my life and this is the only software or application in which you can't.
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    OK, I'll try to make it simpler, so you can understand.
    ScreenCap 15.png
    If you have a folder and you create an alias, anything you drag to the alias will actually be placed in the folder, as illustrated by the arrows labeled "2" in the screen capture above. You will not have one copy of a pic in the folder and another copy in the alias. An alias cannot contain pics or any files. It simply points to an existing file or folder.
    As you can see by the arrow labeled "1" in the screen capture above, you can drag pictures directly from Photo Booth into any folder you choose. You can also drag a picture to the Mail icon on your Dock to attach that picture to an email. You can also click on a picture in Photo Booth and press the "delete" key to delete the picture, so nothing is saved in the Photo Booth folder.
    Actually, it's not. Address Book and iCal don't give you the option to change the location of their associated files, and they're not the only ones. It's not uncommon for an app to not provide a method for changing default locations of associated files.
     
  10. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #10
    Do this. It will do exactly what you want. Trust me. This is how I used to do my iTunes library until they added the option in there. You seem to be confusing an alias with a Windows shortcut. They don't serve the same function.
     
  11. GGJstudios, May 4, 2011
    Last edited: May 4, 2011

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Try exactly that with Photo Booth and see what happens.
    Yes, they do.
     
  12. BGTHEMOGUL thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #12
    If I drag the picture from the actual Photo Booth application after I take it onto my desktop does it still put a copy of that photo in the Photo Booth folder?
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    Dragging it from Photo Booth only makes a copy wherever you drop it, which gives you the ability to drag it to a folder or your Desktop, then drag it again to your Mail icon to email it. To remove the pic from the Photo Booth folder, simply click once on the pic in the Photo Booth app and press the "delete" key. That removes it from the Photo Booth folder.
     
  14. BGTHEMOGUL thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #14
    I'm assuming you mean after I've put it onto the desktop otherwise it would delete the image completely. So I can take a picture in Photo Booth, drag and drop on desktop to have it there and then delete from within the Photo Booth application and there will be no signs of it in the Photo Booth folder, correct?
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    Correct. Why not just test it to find out for yourself? It's quite simple to do.
     
  16. BGTHEMOGUL thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #16
    Thanks I just did and that works. Looks like that will be my solution. I appreciate your time and help.
     

Share This Page