Can you help me understand this? Resolution.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BeyondMountains, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. BeyondMountains macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    rMBP -> Thunderbolt to VGA adapter -> 24 inch monitor = max resolution of 1920 x1080


    2008 MP -> DVI to VGA adapter -> same 24 inch monitor = max resolution of 1920 x 1200

    ??!?!?!?!?

    2008 MP runs snow leopard
    rMPB runs Lion
     
  2. bryne macrumors member

    bryne

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Why the hell are you using a 24" monitor at that resolution without DVI?
     
  3. Drask macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #3
    This forum really needs the down vote function again.

    @OP: Were you expecting a higher resolution? Because it seems like 1920x1080 is the max your monitor can provide, its not the cable.
     
  4. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Sorry there are so many trolls on this forum. That is an odd behavior...you should be able to reach 1920x1200 on either. Could be a problem with the graphics output using VGA on the rMBP. I'm sure it will be patched if enough people point it out. I would contact apple about the problem. (Tho I would recommend using TB > DVI...and if your monitor doesn't support DVI, its time to upgrade.)
     
  5. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #5
    The monitor (about 4 years old) Only has two inputs: 1 dvi and 1 vga

    I wanted to keep the DVI for my MP, since it was already hooked up that way.



    "@OP: Were you expecting a higher resolution? Because it seems like 1920x1080 is the max your monitor can provide, its not the cable."

    But its not.. The monitor has been running at 1920 by 1200 for years via DVI and runs at 1920 by 1200 via vga on my MP but not the new rMBP


    "Sorry there are so many trolls on this forum. That is an odd behavior...you should be able to reach 1920x1200 on either. Could be a problem with the graphics output using VGA on the rMBP. I'm sure it will be patched if enough people point it out. I would contact apple about the problem. (Tho I would recommend using TB > DVI...and if your monitor doesn't support DVI, its time to upgrade.) "

    Might be a problem with the way the rMBP is designed. Like I said previously, the monitor has two inputs ( 1 vga and 1 dvi) No need to upgrade this beautiful NEC.. its working the way i want it to now but I still would like to know why the VGA didnt offer 1920 by 1200 for the rMBP
     
  6. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #6
    When you are selecting the resolution in system preferences, are you selecting 1920x1080 or the 1080p option? The latter won't be 1020 x 1200 because it's a TV resolution rather than a monitor resolution.
     
  7. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    When did you mention that?

    All I see is you using VGA in both instances. Have you tried plugging the rMBP in with DVI?
     
  8. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #8
    Yes, I'm getting 1920x1200 with the DVI via rMBP

    ----------

    There was only an option for 1920x1080 and lower. 1920x1200 wasnt present in the list.
     

Share This Page