Can you install a writing app (word?) on iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by gandolf1000, Oct 9, 2007.

1. gandolf1000 macrumors newbie

Hi all. Never had an iPod before and I was thinking of buying the iPod touch. I couldn't find a definitive answer on this forum so I was wondering if someone can shed light on this. Can I use a hack on the iPod touch to install a third party app so that I can write notes/ letters on the go. It doesn't have to be anything as comprehensive as Microsoft Word, but I would like to be able to write it on the iPod Touch then transfer it into an app like Word or Pages when I get home. I'm a bit of newbie on all of this so sorry if this seems like a silly question. I couldn't find answers in this forum. Thanks all!

2. FunkyMonkey macrumors 6502

3rd party apps can't be put on the Touch yet because no one has been able to hack it. Have patience.

3. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

ebel3003

Currently there are no publicly released hacks for the iPod Touch. However, I'm sure there will be fairly soon.

4. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

as people have said there are no hacks for it yet, but progress is being made and Hacks should be out in a week or so. once Hacks are out it will just depend on whether someone has written the app for it or not.

5. gandolf1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the replies everyone. Just wondering: can you use the hack for iPhone on the iPod Touch? I'm asking because I think I read somewhere that they're using the same "watered-down" operating system.

That being said, should I just buy the iPod Touch now and hope that the hack and app comes out soon?

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!

6. Vigilante macrumors 6502a

Vigilante

No, they are different. It will be around soon, though.

7. Football1maniac macrumors regular

Football1maniac