Can you install leopard on a mac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sahni130, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. sahni130 macrumors 6502

    sahni130

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia, United States
    #1
    i just got a new imac and i was wondering if i could use the restore discs that came with the imac to install leopard on a macbook pro that has tiger installed on it? if yes, how do i do it?
     
  2. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
  3. acxz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #3
    You can't. The restore discs are hardware specific I believe, so you can't use iMac restore discs on Macbooks, for example.

    Or maybe I'm confusing them with the Drop In discs...
     
  4. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #4
    Nope - the restore discs that came with the iMac are specific to the iMac model...
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Yes, but doing it using the alternate methods will mean the OS install is configured to the host computer and not the target.

    Not too big a deal if the machines are similar chipsets.

    But we cannot tell you how to do it without getting the thread closed.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    Not legal to do.

    The DVD is for the system it came with, it is NOT a multi-system disk. You can buy family pack upgrades for Leopard, but that is not what you are asking. Sensibly, people are not going to tell you how, or if, it can be done.
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    yeah...

    How many times is this question going to be asked? Can we just make a sticky that says "no, you can't use restore discs on another Mac" for the front page?
     
  8. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #8
    The easiest way to find out is to put the Restore disc in. When you try to install it, it will give you an error message saying that it can't be done.
     

Share This Page