Can you install OS 4 on a PC

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by flipm725, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. flipm725 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #1
    I was just wondering. I have my phone backed up and everything.
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    No. Uses a different kind of processor.

    There is a limited simulator that you can get as part of XCode though.
     
  3. flipm725 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #3
    ohhh ok. did any of the previous betas ever allow you to install it through PC or no?..
     
  4. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #4
    Hang on, are you asking if you can install the upgrade your iPhone to the beta OS using a non-mac computer?
     
  5. flipm725 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    Apparently you need a mac to install OS 4, I think installing it via Windows gives you errors.

    Just read through the comments here:

    http://www.9to5mac.com/node/15749?page=1
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    OS 4 betas are for registered, paid-up, iPhone developers only. You can only develop on a Mac. Therefore Apple only spend resources on making the betas install correctly on a Mac.

    That said a paid-up developer would have access to the notes that go with the current release that offer a method to backup beta 2 devices (and I suspect therefore install) on a Windows machine. As the OP does not know what this is it appears he is using illegally obtained software.
     
  8. flipm725 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #8
    nevermind, I'll wait till the final release comes out. I don't want to risk breaking my phone.
     
  9. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #9
    As a developer with a dead mac, I've upgraded my iPhone using my Windows machine. Upgrade was ok.
     

Share This Page