Can you install Windows using remote disk on bootcamp?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by OceanView, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. OceanView macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #1
    Can you install XP/Vista on the MBA using remote disk during the bootcamp installation process or do you have to have the external superdrive attached?
     
  2. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #2
    No....

    Unfortunately no. You need the superdrive.

    Alternatively you can use a powered USB external DVD drive if you have one or a friend has one.
     
  3. MorningZ macrumors newbie

    MorningZ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #3

    I just got my Air today and wanted to get Bootcamp going..... I tried a Sony USB External Drive (DRX-530UL) and the Air wouldn't recognize it....

    Went to Office Depot and their three models of external drives had no mention of Mac support...

    Other than the $99 Superdrive, is there a list somewhere of other options (that don't cost that much?)
     
  4. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #4
  5. MorningZ macrumors newbie

    MorningZ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #5
    I saw that topic actually...

    but the "answer" of

    -----------------------------------------------
    yeah, any drive that has its own external power chord and doesn't require being plugged into two USB ports
    -----------------------------------------------

    isn't accurate... as the Sony i previously mentioned has an external power supply and only one USB cable
     
  6. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #6
    Well you may have run into an unfortunate situation. I recently bought an Air and needed to install Windows. I just went to my local Target store and bought an $89 HP DVD+RW drive, plugged it into my Air and it worked perfectly. Nowhere on the box does it mention Mac compatibility. Just about any external DVD/CD drive is compatible with Macintosh computers. When they mention system requirements being of Windows they generally mean the software included to do backups or DVD laser scribing but they still work with any Mac as an external drive.
     
  7. MorningZ macrumors newbie

    MorningZ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #7
    yeah, you said it

    i've run across lots of posts just like this here and there where people say it's pretty much hit or miss with brands other than the Apple one

    I did stop at the Apple store on the way home from work and picked up the Superdrive..... man, how finicky.... it won't work through the Targus mini hub i bought earlier today....

    ah well.. what can ya do :)
     

Share This Page