Can you install without Developer Account?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by legaleye3000, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    Can I install 10.11 without a developer account? Thanks.
     
  2. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #2
    Yes of course. Just download the image file and install it.
     
  3. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
    Oh ok. So it won't verify upon installation or first run that I'm part of the development program? Thanks.
     
  4. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #4
    I'm not a developer, but i have El Capitan on my Macbook.
    Go to any torrent site and download the image and install, simple as that! No verification.
     
  5. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
  6. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #6
    You might do, I didn't.
     
  7. iPad Retina macrumors 6502a

    iPad Retina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Would you guys say it usable as a everyday computer?

    My is in the signature
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I wouldn't. Most developers that I know run it on an external drive, or partition their drive, so that you still have the older OS. I know some others that clone their current install so they can go back to yosemite if they need to.

    Bottom line is having 10.10 available and only using 10.11 for testing is what I'd recommend.
     
  9. TMRJIJ macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #9
    This joke wasn't even funny in our thread dude. :cool:
     
  10. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    to be honest if someone had updated my mac without me knowing i wouldnt even have noticed it lol runs smooth as butter
     
  11. Mr.ShyGuy macrumors newbie

    Mr.ShyGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #11
    Hahaha me has hecho reír. Hilarious
     
  12. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #12
    Mine is the correct El Capitan.
    Yes, you can install it without a developer account.
    However, as mentioned above, you should install it in a separate drive partition or an external drive. I risk my data and every other things, install this beta right over previous Yosemite. Don't do what I do.
     
  13. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #13
    As long as you keep a backup of your computer running non beta software (which i do) i dont see any problems installing El Capitan right over Yosemite (as i have). No major problems so far!
     
  14. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #14
    You are a lucky man.
    Just right now, iTunes crashed in this beta. I had no idea what was happening.
    I am reinstalling the OS. :(
     
  15. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #15
    Ouch, i feel your pain! I've been there myself a few times...
    Hope it all works out for you!
     
  16. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #16
    Yeah. Hope all will work out for me.
    Thankfully, unlike windows, I just reinstall without backing up my data. :(
     
  17. yukyuklee macrumors 6502

    yukyuklee

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #17
    LOL!!!!
     

Share This Page