Can you make the PowerCable for MAC

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by michellelane71, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. michellelane71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #1
    Anyone know what u need to make the Video PowerCables for mac? Dont really want to pay $12 x2 to ATI
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    What, for connecting a graphics card?

    Any card you buy that needs them will have them.
     
  3. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Not if you buy a PC card that you want to use in a Mac Pro.
     
  4. michellelane71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #4
    I got a EVGa PC GTX 285 (Not Mac Version)I want to use.. and I need these , anyone know how to make the cables need theplug that plugs into the mac motherboard
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    How did it not come with cables? Call the manufacturer and tell them.
     
  6. michellelane71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #6
    Mac Require a special PowerCord.. only when u buy the MAC Version do you get them

    I have a PC Windows Version, I want to use on the mac, and need the power cable
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    I'm fairly certain it's standard six-pin Molex. Did you TRY it? If anything, the PC "version" needs something shaved off the ends.

    Either way, you'll need to buy the ATI ones if your "PC" ones don't work.
     
  8. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Seriously, do you not read?

    Mac Pros require special PCIe power cables to feed graphics card straight from the logic board. You can get them with a new Mac specific card (such as a GTX 285 from EVGA, 4870 from Apple, 8800GT from Apple and the X1900 from ATi), or individually for a price premium.

    PC cards use standard PCIe power cables that don't fit the Mac Pro. Hence the cables that come with the PC card are useless and need replacing with the aforementioned Mac-only PCIe power cables.

    michellelane71 clearly stated they bought a standard PC edition GTX 285, not the Mac edition. Hence they'll get the standard PCIe power cables which they need to replace with the Mac specific ones.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Then she'll need to buy the ATI ones; end of story.
     
  10. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Bingo ;)

    There are other stores that sell them apart from ATi, but the cost savings are negligible.
     
  11. michellelane71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #11
    I AM ASKING Can they be made another words.. where Can I get the plugs that fit in the Mac Pro motherboard , so I dont have to wait to get the ones from ATI
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    We know what you're saying, and we're circumventing it by telling you it's impossible.
     
  13. michellelane71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #13
    Ok.. anyone got a link where i can but these cable
     
  14. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15

    It's entirely possible and extremely easy.

    http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en-us&q=cables+and+connectors&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    You need to hunt a bit is all. Get you're soldering iron warmed up bro!

    Anyone got a close up of one of these two 6-pin block connecters?

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...q=Mac+Pro+card+power+connectors&aq=f&oq=&aqi=


     
  15. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
  16. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    Bah! They're around... just gotta find them is all. No prob... we gotz internetz. :D

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=7289304&postcount=323
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=7290038&postcount=325

     
  17. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #19
    Here's another with step instructions and part numbers:


    http://www.tenthousandpercent.com/index.php?article=96&section=other
     
  18. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #20
    Split power off the superdrive Molex and buy one of the $5 eBay cables or get one from your local PC shop.
     
  19. michellelane71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #21
    The 2009 Version dont have a Molex for superdrive bay, They use Sata PowerCable now
     
  20. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  21. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    [​IMG]

    **** OFF.
     
  22. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #24
    There are the same cables available that have SATA power on one end instead of the Molex 4-pint tho too. :)
     
  23. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008

Share This Page