Can you mix ram?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zjrhens, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. zjrhens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #1
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    IIRC, there are only 2 slots - so, no, that will not work.
     
  3. zjrhens thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #3
    How are there only 2 slots if you can upgrade to 16gb of ram?
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I just checked, there are 4 slots, so yes, you can do that.
     
  5. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
  6. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    As long as you mix them "in pairs". Like I have a pair of 4GB NuRAMs in the first bank and a pair of 4GB Patriots in the second.
     
  7. tc3jg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #7
    so they have to be the same size? I have two 512gb sticks I think laying around from an OLD macbook could I stick those in my 27in imac for just a little boost? Or no?
     
  8. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #8
    probably not.
    they need ot be the same kind and speed. though size can be mixed, and as some say it doesn't need to be in pairs, thats just preferable
     
  9. jotade11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #9
    Oh my god, he's a time traveler. He has 512 -GB- RAM sticks and he calls them 'old'!
     
  10. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    I believe the two ram banks have to have same amount of memory, rather one is a 4 gig stick and the other is 2 2 gig sticks. Timings/clock rate can be dynamically changed. It usually depends on chipset and mobo tho.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    I don't think so. iMac works fine even though the other bank is totally empty and people who have installed 12GB have just populated the empty slots (4GB in BANK1 and 8GB in BANK2).

    With modern Intel chipsets and memory controllers, RAM can be mixed nearly as much as you like
     
  12. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  13. dlewis23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #13
    You can mix and match ram with out any problems. If you leave a DIMM open tho you will lose Dual Channel.
     
  14. tc3jg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #14
    now Im confused lol lets put it like this if I stuck my "old" lol two 512mb in the memory banks in my imac and to see if the machine recognized them could I tear anything up?
     
  15. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #15
    to be clear, you can put in whatever memory you like, as long as it's the same type (e.g. DDR2 667). they do not have to be in pairs — that's just for dual channel, which yields minimal (if any) real-world benefits for most users anyway.

    if the 512MB sticks are DDR3 1333 (I think that's what iMacs use now), then yes, otherwise no.
     

Share This Page