Can you move system drive to new mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vrsnake, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. vrsnake macrumors newbie

    vrsnake

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I currently have a 2007 Mac Pro (intel). I hope soon to buy one of the latest 2009 Mac Pros. My question is: Can I move my existing system drive (10.6.2) to my new mac? Will the 2009 Mac Pro boot from it?

    I know this would not work on a windows machine as chip specific drivers get added at install time, but I was hoping I could get away with it with a Mac.

    Thanks.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
  3. nigameash macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Space: The Final Frontier
    #3
    Hmm it depends, I doubt anyone out here could give you a proper and correct answer unless the person has tried something similar. EG: the drivers used by a imac and macbook pro are quite different due to the hardware setup. So if u cloned an imac disk and tried to use it on the macbook pro, u'd get horrendous results :p so it kinda depends on the changes made between the two systems and if there are any significant hardware changes
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    No you wouldn't. The only problem you'd have would be in cloning a PowerPC Mac to Intel or vice versa. In fact, I have cloned a MacBook Pro hard drive and used the image on an iMac for over a year with no problems.
     
  5. Ca$hflow macrumors 6502

    Ca$hflow

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Location:
    London, ON
    #5
    I will answer this come this weekend. I'm moving a drive from a MacBook Pro 2.16 core Duo over to a MackBook pro 2.5 Core 2 Duo.
     

Share This Page