Can you not get a second line for business on the iPhone??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TomaxXamot, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. TomaxXamot macrumors regular

    TomaxXamot

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Sumas, Washington
    #1
    Hey everyone,
    I am starting a new videography business and I just called Rogers (Canada) the other day to add a second line to my iPhone, so that I get a different ringtone etc for people calling about the business. Also, so that I can answer the phone with my business name. Well, I was on the phone with them for 20 mins only to be completely blown away when they told me the iPhone is not capable of having a second line added. Is this true?? I searched online for a long time, including these forums, and couldn't find anything, other than some VoIP app that is not what I'm looking for. There must be plenty of iPhone business users that have a second line, correct?
    Could it be a limitation of Rogers?
    Thanks, any info will be much appreciated.
     
  2. shigs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #2
    There is a service called toktumi.com and they have a iphone app called Line2, it should do what you need.
     
  3. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #3
    I can't say that it's impossible, but I can say that I've been on this forum every day since before the first iPhone came out and I have never heard of this in any form, in any country, on any carrier.

    So I would guess your odds of success are not good.

    My one suggestion is to use a single number. Then, assign one ringtone to all your personal contacts and another to all your business ones. Then assign the business ringtone to the 'default' ring so you always answer as a business when a stranger calls.

    Perhaps you'll use your business name with some friends using an unfamiliar phone to call you. I suspect they'll understand.
     
  4. TomaxXamot thread starter macrumors regular

    TomaxXamot

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Sumas, Washington
    #4
    Thanks for the reply, but no that is the app I was talking about. I need to know if the iPhone is not capable of having a second line through my service provider and whether people on AT&T are able to have one.
     
  5. Adam0306 macrumors regular

    Adam0306

    #5
    I know that your talking about iPhone and I'm definately not trying to push it, but Blackberry does have the capability of a second line.
     
  6. TomaxXamot thread starter macrumors regular

    TomaxXamot

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Sumas, Washington
    #7
    Hey thanks, I guess I might have to do that. I'm just surprised, totally would've thought there'd be thousands of people with business lines.

    @ Adam0306: Thanks, I know! There is just no way I want to carry two phones around, and for now I wouldn't give up my (relatively small) investment in iPhone apps (which is exactly what :apple: wants!).

    EDIT:
    @ Steve Jobs=God: Okay, a definitive answer then. Not what I wanted to hear, but thanks!!
     
  7. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #8
    Get Google Voice and forward calls to your iPhone.
     
  8. thebubbatex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #9
    I have 3 different lines that can ring to my iPhone. Get yourself a service - Google Voice was mentioned above or get a virtual PBX. I use the Simply One plan at VoiceNation (as well as a Google Voice number for a different business) that will find me or leave a voicemail. If you have such a service, all you need is one line to accept the call, right?
     
  9. Badfoot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    What about those cases that incorporate 2 sims ? Would that do it ?

    I saw them on Dealextreme, but I'm not sure how they work.

    Just FYI
     
  10. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    I don't think any GSM phones handle 2 lines unless it has room for 2 SIMs, no?
     

Share This Page