can you open logic projects in protools or cakewalk

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by theapex, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. theapex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    just a question.

    Me and some buddies are working on a project or two. They have Cakewalk and I have Logic. If I send them all the audio files and stuff...could they open it up in Cakewalk...

    Hope you understand what I am asking?
     
  2. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #2
    I don't know why your title said protools but your question didn't say anything about it...

    You won't be able to open the session in protools.. but you can render all of the audio tracks to the same starting point, and then take those files into protools ... (thats the easiest way)...

    And the same principle will work for other DAWs ...
     
  3. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    You can from Logic to Pro Tools, not sure about cakewalk.

    Export your project as an OMF.
     
  4. theapex thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #4
    what does OMF stand for?

    and what about effects and those sort of things that were applied to tracks...will that stuff carry over as well?
     
  5. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Or just do it the way Drumjim says.

    I've never tried the OMF myself, but have heard it can be problematic.
     
  6. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #6
    Open Media Framework, and from what I have seen of it personally, stinks. YMMV.
     
  7. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    OMF=open media framework

    It doesn't export midi or automation.

    Best way is to bounce everything down to audio files and then transfer it.

    Trying to work in different packages with the same plug-ins/settings/automation isn't going to happen really.
     
  8. theapex thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #8
    I like what zygo said. bouce everything down to tracks and then export them. only question now is...when you export it does it export it track by track...meaning that when they open it they will have to open each track up into a new track individually or does he just have to open one file that will open all the tracks up?
     
  9. theapex thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #9
    thanks again guys for all your help. I am new to all this and just want to learn all I can.
     
  10. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Do it as drumjim described-so each audio file is the whole length of the track start to finish.

    Then import the audio straight into a Pro Tools session to new tracks.
     
  11. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    If you're looking at working collaboratively with this person alot, you should look into both building your systems to be more compatible [i.e. use the same software + plugins] and keep your sample libraries up to date with each other... copyright permitting of course.
     
  12. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #12
    OMF is very buggy, and you have to buy an addition to protools to be able to use it... (the digi translator i think)
     
  13. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    You need digi translator to export from Pro Tools, but apparently you can import using another[free] piece of software.

    Do the Pro Tools HD systems come with digitranslator?
     
  14. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #14
    I don't think so... we just had to buy it for one of our rooms here.... (but maybe if you bought a new system they might throw it in... ??)
     

Share This Page