can you power a SSD from a mac pro 2008 dvd drive?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by orph, Sep 24, 2015.

  1. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi i have a macpro 3.1, iv been thinking of putting a SSD in the optical bay using one of the extra sata ports on the moutherboard.

    Is it possible to power a SSD with the spare DVD drive power cable ? (i only have one dvd drive installed)
    or do i have to use one of the 6 pin power cables from the moutherbord (iv been saving it for if i want to get a blueray drive or usb 3 card).

    thanks
     
  2. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #2
    Yes. that’s exactly how my 1,1 is running now. You probably need an adaptor though.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    And a Blu-ray drive will work just fine in either optical drive bay.

    Lou
     
  4. orph, Sep 24, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2015

    orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    what adapter do you use to convert the dvd drive power cable to the SSD?
    (I have no clue about the power cables)
    Do SSD brands mater ? been looking at Crucial/Samsung/Kingston/SanDisk
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
  6. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Those adapters look like PATA/IDE to SATA converters, will that introduce a big bottle neck ?

    Dose the sata cable power the SSD or do i need to get power from somewhere, i was under the impression i had to power the SSD from the 6pin power port on the motherboard and hoping id be able to use something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/Glaxio®-Pow...sr=8-2&keywords=Molex+IDE+to+Serial+ATA+Power to get power from the unused port for the second dvd drive.

    thanks
     
  7. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    That looks like what i wanted thanks,

    been googling for macpro 3.1 SSD installs guided did not think of looking for a blue ray guide, ill wire up both SATA ports to save hassle for later.

    iv spoken to people about this before and they all used the 6 port power port on the motherbord.

    do you think i can squeezes in to a 120GB drive (using 200GB boot partitions at the mo with about 50-60GB left free at all times) or is it best to just grab a 240GB drive?

    is trim still a thing?
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    You don't need to get power from the mobo. The first link I posted is just an adapter that adapts your ATA connection to the newer SATA. The second uses the SATA plug on the MOBO and get power from your ATA plug. The second solution utilizes two cables, one for signal (from the mobo) and one for power from the ATA connector cable.

    Lou
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    I'm glad I could help. And no, you don't need to use either of the six pin GPU power plugs for power.

    As far as SSD size, IMHO, get the biggest one you can afford. You'll come to luv the speed and will relay on it more and more over time. The speed difference is dramatic I have five SSDs on my Mac Pro. One is an SM951 Blade, two are connected by an Apricorn Velocity duo x2 and two more are in the HDD drive bays. You may want to look at the Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 to mount your SSD. It will eliminate all your wiring hassles and be faster than an SATA connection. On a 3,1 Mac Pro it would need to be mounted in PCIe slot 2.

    Lou
     
  10. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    nice, 5 SSD's they must be nice. I just want a nice small boot drive, I use 200GB partitions currently (makes backups so much easier).

    did notice a Sedna card http://www.amazon.co.uk/SEDNA-Expre...e=UTF8&qid=1443115177&sr=8-1&keywords=ssd+pci which looks fun, but still have to mess around with power cables which is a pain

    My main problems are just CPU/buss limited from my 3.1 (video work)
    been waiting for a 8 core 4.1/5.1 to be on sale locally.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    ^^^^The link you posted looks a lot like the Apricorn unit, but less expensive. Not sure about performance. It does not require a additional power if just one drive is being used. Look at question 2 at the bottom of the page.

    Lou
     
  12. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    :p Ill start small with an SSD in the drive bay and think about PCI cards later.

    thanks for the help, now of to amazon
     
  13. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #14
    If you have the time/space/money, skip the drive bay solution and go straight to either of the two available PCI-Express SSD solutions;
    • There is this Accelsior S from OWC, and…….
    • this from another MR thread.
    The difference is significant and immediate.
     
  14. UniversalWolf macrumors newbie

    UniversalWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #15
    I got mine in the mail a couple of days ago. I'm just waiting for my 250GB Crucial SSD to arrive, and I'll be trying it out in my 3,1 MacPro.

    I can report back on my experience in case anyone is interested. I know I found a lot of strange/conflicting/incomplete information about this card and the 3,1 MacPro when I did a search for them both. Setup seems like it should be fairly simple though.
     
  15. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Thanks for the advice, ill start with just the SSD.
    If i want to move up to PCI SSD's I can just grab a PCI card later and plug it in.

    UniversalWolf, id like to hear about your new upgrade.

    Thanks
     
  16. UniversalWolf macrumors newbie

    UniversalWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #17
    I'll report back once I get it working.
     
  17. UniversalWolf macrumors newbie

    UniversalWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #18
    I finally got my SSD this morning. It's a 250GB Crucial MX200. Unfortunately I was on my way to a funeral so it had to wait...

    When I got home I popped open my Apricorn Velocity Solo x2, and put the SSD on it. This was very easy. The Velocity comes in simple, clear plastic packaging with a blue and white and red paper insert. Make sure to examine the insert carefully, since it folds over and it has lots of useful information printed on the inside as well as the outside.

    The Velocity card had a tiny plastic bag with four small mounting screws. This was taped to the card itself. Oddly, my SSD had holes for the mounting screws around the outside edge rather than on the lower face, so they didn't match up with the screw holes in the card. I put the screws in the SSD anyway because I thought it might keep dust out of the holes, at least. I fastened the SSD to the card using the tape from the mounting screw bag. This was the strangest part of the whole process, but I actually think it will work just fine. If it makes a difference to you, you could check the SSD you're buying closely to see where the mounting screw holes are located. I never even thought of that.

    I took the side panel off my MacPro, cleaned out some dust just to be tidy, and proceeded to put the Velocity card in the second PCI slot, right above my Radeon HD 5770 GPU. Honestly, it didn't look like it was going to fit at first glance. After I had loosened the spring-loaded finger screws and removed the metal mounting bracket at the back of the case, however, the card slid into place almost effortlessly. The middle screw on the mounting bracket was positioned right over the base plate of the Velocity card, so it's fixed in place very securely.

    I should note that the Velocity card did not block the fan on my GPU at all. I don't foresee the SSD card impacting cooling or airflow much at all.

    I replaced the side panel, plugged everything back in, and booted up. OSX had no trouble at all with the SSD. I formatted it and there it was on my desktop, ready to use. If you just want to use it as a data drive, that's all there is to it. That's also as far as I've gotten. I didn't have time to do anything else today.

    The next step is to try and set it up as a boot drive. I can see that, if there are going to be any problems, this is where they will most likely occur. OSX recognizes the drive as external, or at least different from a regular hard drive. You can tell because the volume appears on the desktop with the orange drive icon rather than the grey hard drive icons. The Velocity's paper insert and the Apricorn website have some helpful advice concerning this issue. I'll be doing some experiments tonight and tomorrow to see if I can get it working.

    So far things seem to be working very well, so I'm hopeful. This is all in Snow Leopard (because I'm hopelessly outdated in most ways).
     
  18. flowrider, Sep 28, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2015

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
    ^^^^Hmmm, IMHO, that's really odd that the Crucial MX200 had no mounting holes in the bottom plate. In the pict I downloaded from newegg it appears to have those holes. Frankly I've never heard of a 2.5" SSD or any 2.5" form factor HDD or SSHD that didn't have those mounting holes. That's really strange:(

    250GB Crucial MX200.jpg

    Lou
     
  19. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    happy to hear you had such a smooth insulation thanks for sharing :D
     
  20. UniversalWolf macrumors newbie

    UniversalWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #21
    I hear you. I'm not even sure what kind of mounting the SSD would fit with the screw holes on the outside edges. I wasn't expecting that at all.

    Still, it shouldn't be a significant problem. The SSD is seated pretty securely in the Velocity card with just the pressure of the connectors to hold it. It has nowhere to go, really. I put the tape on it because the back end lifts up off the card 1 or 2 mm otherwise. It would take a big impact to pop it loose, and my cheese grater is safely stationary.

    My first experiment today was to install Windows 7 on a 200GB partition on another hard drive, get it all set up and working, then clone it to the Crucial and try to boot off it. Maybe not the easiest place to start. It didn't work, but I'm just getting started.
     
  21. orph thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    this pdf http://www.apricorn.com/media/uploads/VelocitySolo_X2_QSG.pdf says drivers need to be installed first.

    windows is always a pain, when re-instal windows 7 i have to pull all the Hd's apart from the one I'm installing to.
    (im not using the bootcamp installer but am grabbing the drivers from it)

    & if you boot with the wrong GPU windows is a pain ;(
     
  22. UniversalWolf macrumors newbie

    UniversalWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #23
    Thanks orph! I found that pdf also. It's the same information that comes printed on the inside of the paper insert in the Velocity packaging.

    Yes, installing Windows is akin to torture. I can usually figure it out though. I've also got a friend who's an expert if I need advice.

    It reminds me how easy my time with OSX has been on this machine. It came with Leopard, which I later upgraded to Snow Leopard. Other than that I've never had to do anything to it. It runs really fast and crisp on the HD that came from the factory. In contrast, I've reinstalled Windows from scratch probably five times.

    I'm enjoying the SSD. I guess I'd count myself in the camp of people that says it makes a significant difference for almost any kind of application. I've tried image editing, and if you're working on a large project the shorter load times are quite nice. I also notice a difference in the little read/write instances that occur as you're using most large programs. It's the kind of thing I was so used to I never thought much about it, but now that it happens really, really fast, I do see the improvement.

    I just finished installing IL-2 Sturmovik on my SSD, so I'll be giving that a whirl soon.
     

Share This Page