Can you put (2) 1.8 hds in a MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by auhlixer, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. auhlixer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    By stacking them?

    Just curious

    want to be able to do boot camp w/o partioning (destroying) my current hd.
     
  2. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    Doubt it.
     
  3. CP1091 macrumors regular

    CP1091

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
  4. SoLibertyDies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Spanaway, Wa
    #4
    they've got one that replaces the optical drive if you're hard up for harddrive space.

    I forget what it was called
     
  5. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #5
    Do not do that to yourself! Get an Optibay (that's what it is called ;)) and put in two full-speed drives!

    I have been meaning to do this for myself...
     
  6. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  7. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    using bootcamp doesnt loose anything on your hd


    it resizes the drive without having to re-format or reinstall anything
     
  8. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #8
    this seems very tempting to me now that 10.5.2 will allow remote booting
     
  9. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #9
    the 1.8" in the Air uses a different interface (PATA) versus the MBP and macbook's SATA interface. If you can find a 1.8 with a SATA interface then i'm sure you can use it, you just wont be able to mount it anywhere inside using screws. Tape? sure i guess.

    i would also think it would be pretty hard to squeeze more than one inside, because of the cables.
     
  10. creator2456 macrumors 68000

    creator2456

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    I think he wants 2 separate drives because if your backups are on the same drive as the originals and the drive fails...POOF...the originals and the backups are gone.

    To the OP
    Just looking around on a couple sites (mainly here) for measurements on 1.8" drives, it looks like there is physical room for the drives. I think the hard part will be the cabling and mounting.
     
  11. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #11
    my hard drive died a few weeks after using bootcamp pretty heavily
     
  12. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #12
    If it physically died, then that was just bad luck.

    Go grab yourself one of those 320GB 2.5 inch HDs if you want space. :)
     
  13. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    what are you guys talking about, there is absolutly no space inside of the machine to mount a second harddrive

    come on now, this isnt rocket science

    ONE 1.8" drive is .31" tall x 2.79 long x 2.12 wide

    ONE 2.5" drive is .37" tall x 3.94 long x 2.75 wide
    how is is he going to fit two in there?

    [​IMG]
    the primary drive barely fits as it is, unless you take the optical drive..or battery... out

    not to mention the connector is only going to fit one harddrive
    how are you planing on connecting the second?
     
  14. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #14
    this is what i wanted to find out.

    but the optibay drive 2nd hd will work for me.

    thanks for your research/input
     
  15. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    excellent, thats the best way to go
     
  16. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #16
    I thought you only used BootCamp once, to partition the HD for Windows and OS X. After that, aren't you only either booting into one or the other? Or, do you mean you've been partitioning the drive frequently?
     
  17. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #17
    mbp hd is 2.5"

    1.8+1.8 = more than 2.5"

    won't fit.
     
  18. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  19. elberggreno macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #19
    Does anyone know if the superdrive is a sata or pata drive? I'm thinking about taking the DIY route instead of buying the omnibay (double sided tape, funky plastic housing or something like that).. also does the superdrive feature a stadard connector (so I simply just have to rip the superdrive out and plug my hdd in)?

    Would be awsome to know, the omnibay is simply to expensive with shipping to europe for me..
     
  20. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    no

    its a special connector

    ...i think
     
  21. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
  22. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    i agree, thats why i dont bother looking at threads with over 4 replies lol

    this one i just had to respond to though
     
  23. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #23
    The makers of the Modbook were able to take out the Superdrive and insert a second harddrive in its place. But I don't think 2x1.8 HDD is possible.
     

Share This Page