Can you remotely disable airplane mode?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by owen22, May 15, 2010.

  1. owen22 macrumors newbie

    owen22

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I know this is probably a really stupid question but this is the last chance to try and locate my gf's iphone which she has just lost in a taxi somewhere in Hong Kong. :(

    As she does not have international roaming she had it set on airplane mode so it's not like she can just call it up and find out if it's been handed in...

    Is there anyway to remotely turn off airplane mode?

    I realise the automatic response might be 'well if she doesn't have a cellular network, how do you think you could sent anything to the phone even if there was a way to do it..." but I'm literally grasping at straws here... :confused::confused::confused:

    Thanks!!
     
  2. -Garry- macrumors 6502a

    -Garry-

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Sorry!
     
  3. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #3
    I don't believe you can...

    But, keep a keen eye out, the finder will disable it for you;)
     
  4. owen22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    owen22

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #4
    Just did a bit more digging and it looks like you can do this but if you are a MobileMe subscriber... (my gf isn't...)

    I've sent a text to the phone with her hotel details so hopefully if someone has it they'll see it's on airplane mode and turn it off!!

    Thanks guys!
     
  5. Penguissimo macrumors 6502a

    Penguissimo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    If it makes you feel any better, she couldn't do it even if she WERE a MobileMe subscriber—the whole idea of airplane mode is to disable all wireless connections, so MobileMe's remote messaging/wipe features still wouldn't work.
     
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    I think you've mistaken 'feel better' with 'lost all hope' :)

    Would a telco try and find you phone if you provided the IMEI number to them? The phone will invariably be turned on and be connected to a network. You would have to call your telco at home and ask for the IMEI number.
     
  7. FoxMcWeezer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #7
    If I ever find an iPhone I know to immediately restore it.
     

Share This Page