Can you remove ios9 swipe left news?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Peeetski, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. Peeetski macrumors newbie

    Peeetski

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #1
    Hi there,

    Hey does anyone know a way to remove the news in iOS9 when you swipe left? I like the rest, but I hate seeing the news there!

    Thanks,
    Pete

    image.jpeg
     
  2. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Settings > general > spotlight search find news and toggle it off.
     
  3. Peeetski thread starter macrumors newbie

    Peeetski

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #3
    Thanks but I don't have a news option to switch off :(
    I can turn off 'Siri Suggestions' but that gets rid of all the other useful stuff on that screen.
    In Australia we don't have the news app (as of yet) so maybe that's it??
     
  4. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    News is part of the Siri Suggestions I believe, so turning that off will remove the news stories.
     
  5. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #5
    Outside the US you won't see News in the Spotlight Search options to toggle off. (It used to on previous betas but not the latest.) I'm in Canada and used to have it in PB 1 and 2, but it's no longer there in PB 3. Maybe try setting your region to US. (This will require a reboot) then toggle it off, and then put your region back to Australia. (Another reboot)
     
  6. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Interesting. In the US I not only have the news toggle but I can toggle it off to turn off the news on the spotlight screen. @Peeetski I hope you find a fix that works for you.
     
  7. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #7
    Looking for an option as well. So far the news selection is really poor anyway (mostly rubbish from Daily Telegraph and Sky.com, really not my websites of choice). I also noticed that it included Arabic and Spanish news from BBC.com, really weird!
     
  8. Peeetski thread starter macrumors newbie

    Peeetski

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #8
    Hmm well that sounds promising :) Hopefully before the beta is over we'll get those options too.
     
  9. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #9
    I think Australia is one of the three launch countries to have the News app. So you should eventually get it the option.

    For now though, like I said a couple posts up. The option was there even for non US people in PB 1 (DP 3) and PB 2 (DP 4). But taken out in PB 3 (DP 5). So probably gone for good for countries that won't have the News app right away and won't until their country gets the News app.
     
  10. kingsleykinglin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #10
    ANOTHER thing that has bugged me about iOS for flipping years is the inability to 'Close All Apps'. Like come on.

    I've heard the excuse 'it doesn't matter if they're open anyway' because they're not actually sucking up cpu in their stagnant background state. But if it doesn't matter that much, why are we given the option to close apps one at a time, there's obviously purpose for it. And it just bugs me anyway to see all my recent apps appearing to 'open' when I double tap the home button...

    Thoughts?
     
  11. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #11
    This one has been discussed in anothe thread, and it seems that no one can convince another.

    For me it would be better to close all apps in one slide. But now sometimes i leave all opened apps in switcher.
     
  12. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #12
    These days tony Abbott is doing something not so happy for many others. :)

    By the way, I would leave it there because I can grab some news more conveniently. I don't need to dig into NYT to find something interesting, for now.
     
  13. kingsleykinglin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #13
    Yeah I would have to agree... It would just be nice to have the option to do either I guess
     
  14. fatherfork macrumors newbie

    fatherfork

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    #14
    We have the option because if one app is misbehaving or has locked up, you need the ability to quit it forcefully. Otherwise that list should be left alone except to quickly switch to an app.

    It isn't a list of running apps. Some may be running (if you are actively using GPS, music, etc.), but you have asked them to run. Any that you don't know aren't running aren't actually running. They're in that list so you can get back to them quickly.
     
  15. kingsleykinglin, Aug 14, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015

    kingsleykinglin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #15
    It would be nice to refresh/reset this list... And what if all my apps aren't working properly and I wanted to forcefully quit them all at once.

    It's just unacceptable ;P

    ... Anyways I think you just shot yourself in the foot there. If they aren't on some level running on that list (on any scale of activity, minor or major); then how can something not running be forcefully shutdown? If it isn't active in the first place.
     
  16. fatherfork macrumors newbie

    fatherfork

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    #16
    Semantics; let's call it manually purging instead of force quitting since that is more analogous to what is actually happening.

    Once you leave an app, it is no longer running (unless you asked it too continue, eg. music, GPS). Its state is saved and if the app had a problem when you left it, it will come back in the same state when you tap on it. Manually purging it from memory resets an app's state so it will have to reload on next launch, clearing the error state. This behavior is accounted for in my initial response, though by use of the less clear "force quit".

    Some apps in that list are running, but only if you asked them to keep running. Just because an app must be purged forcefully doesn't necessarily mean it was taking CPU cycles in the background.
     
  17. kingsleykinglin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #17
    I have asked to keep them running. I like to use background refresh, and make full use of my £700 phone with certain location features (I'm into my sport). So
    I would still value the ability to close all apps at once, rather than having to remember what apps i did or didn't give permission to suck my battery/cpu&whatnot juice
     
  18. Vundu macrumors 65816

    Vundu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #18
    Yeah I reported that to Apple. News in foreign languages appearing.
     
  19. fatherfork macrumors newbie

    fatherfork

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    #19
    Background app refresh (BAR) works by allowing those apps to wake up temporarily periodically throughout the day to update themselves based on your usage patterns. The apps you have allowed BAR capabilities are not constantly running in the background. It is not the same as a music app running in the background.

    And, if you manually purge an app that has BAR capability, that app cannot update itself again until you manually relaunch said app. This means if you manually purge all apps, you would then have to manually launch all the apps you want to update in the background, even if BAR is enabled for those apps. If you then force quit all apps again, you again lose BAR capability. You might as well turn it off.

    Bottom line: don't manually manage apps or iPhone memory. It goes against the way the iPhone works and you're only inconveniencing yourself in the end.
     

Share This Page