Can you run a 120 AND 4870 in a 2009 mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jimmypopjr, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. jimmypopjr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Philly
    #1
    Sorry if it seems like a dumb question. I would just like to have the (relative) power of the 4870, and use the 120 for two extra monitors.

    When I say I'd want the power of the 4870, I mostly mean gaming with that card. Now that I've typed this out, it sounds less and less like it would work.

    Any input would be appreciated. Also, I asked an Apple guy (through Apple's chat) if I could run two 4870s, and he didn't think so due to power limitations. Can anyone confirm this?

    Thanks a bunch, everyone.
     
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
  3. jimmypopjr thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Philly
    #3
    Hey hey. I'm by no means too lazy to search... but I also come from using the IGN boards mainly, and their search function is 100% useless. Not in a joking way... it's actually useless. So it's been a while since I thought to 'search before posting' - My idea of search before posting is to scan the first few pages, which I did. I reviewed the first few pages on the board and didn't catch anything near my question.


    Didn't mean to offend by posting a question.
     
  4. dekka007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #4
    Nobody is offended. Just Virtual Rain being an arrogant impolite a**
     

Share This Page