can you run adobe photoshop on a macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shogokuma, Jun 4, 2007.

  1. shogokuma macrumors member

    shogokuma

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Location:
    New-Brunswick
    #1
    the guy at compusmart told me no so i didnt buy it was he wrong?
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    Yes, it runs on the MacBook. CS2 in emulation, CS3 for native.
     
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    yes he was wrong. you can run it without a problem.
    Photoshop CS3 will run without a problem, older versions wouldn't work so well since they're going to run through Rosetta.

    oh and be sure its the Mac version too.
     
  4. shogokuma thread starter macrumors member

    shogokuma

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Location:
    New-Brunswick
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Yes, it runs all right on my 2.0GHz CD Macbook with 1GB RAM, but 2GB RAM with a C2D processor would be much smoother :)
     
  6. Stratification macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #6
    Looks like you've got your answer, but I'll pipe in too. I haven't had any trouble running the whole CS3 web premium suite on my Macbook (C2D).
     
  7. heySparky macrumors regular

    heySparky

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Are you sure you weren't at compudumb instead?
     
  8. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #8
    Runs fine on my macbook 2ghz core duo with 512MB.
     
  9. Dynamyk macrumors 6502a

    Dynamyk

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
  10. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #10
    *adds an anonymous CompuSmart employee to his List of People to Beat to Death With a Brick*

    Even though I am considering changing that to a bottle after seeing Pan's Labyrinth last night.
     
  11. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #11
    Runs great on my CD MacBook with 2GB. Sometimes takes a bit time to load (although much faster than CS2) but once it's open, it's works fine.
     
  12. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    I hope you didn't buy your PS from Compusmart.
     
  13. Vidd macrumors 6502a

    Vidd

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #13
    The misconception might be based on the relatively weak integrated graphics.
    Photoshop is processor-based and runs fine on any current Mac as long as it's CS3.
     
  14. dswoodley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #14
    Even with the integrated graphics issue, with enough physical ram, it works just fine - maybe a hair slower than a machine with dedicated graphics.
     
  15. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #15
    the point he was making is that a it doesn't matter if you have integrated graphics or a dedicated chip, since it doesn't make use of it.
     
  16. stevehp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    It's not a house, it's a home.
    #16
    Talk about misinformed staff. That's brutal!

    Glad you got your answer here!!!
     
  17. WillMak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #17
    I have a CD macbook with 2 gigs of RAM and can run CS2 just fine. Its slow, but it gets the job done. I imagine the native CS3 version would run extremely well.
     
  18. D0ct0rteeth macrumors 65816

    D0ct0rteeth

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    #18
    I run CS3 on my powerbook g4 1.67

    It runs fine.
     

Share This Page