Can you run Firefox 3.10 & 3.5 Beta Side by Side ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by fab5freddy, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    I am curious if you can run Firefox 3 and Firefox 3.5 Beta
    Side by Side without deleting one of them ??

    Also is there a way to import your bookmarks and settings
    from Firefox 3 to Firefox 3.5 Beta ?

    thanks !
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    yes, and depends on if you want them to share your profile

    if you let them share the profile, the bookmarks and passwords are all shared, there is no need to import.

    if you want to use separate profile for each one of them. then you can use the export/import function in its bookmark manager.
     
  3. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #3
    cool ! i think i would just want to share my profile between the 2 firefoxes.

    How do you share profiles between the 2 firefoxes ?
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    you dont really need to do anything, just download firefox 3.5 beta 4. and install it just the way you install 3.0.10 (drag it to your application folder, or anywhere you want).

    be sure to rename firefox 3.0.10 to a name such as "firefox 3.0.x" if you were to put both version into same folder, because by default they have the same name.
     
  5. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #5
    ok, i'm running them side by side now.
    But Firefox 3.5 Beta is very fast but crashes all the time..

    too bad...
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    its very likely that the profile has some problem. You might have to use a new profile eventually.
     
  7. MAC-PRO-DEMON macrumors 6502a

    MAC-PRO-DEMON

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Up north in Yorkshire :)
    #7
    Yeah... you can run them side by side... but you have to watch out... as if you run them at the same time.. they are both trying to get to files that each programme wants and needs so they may cancel each other out..

    J
     
  8. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    firefox will not open if another process firefox.bin exist in the system. OP's crashing problem probably is not caused by this.
     

Share This Page