Can you switch RAM between computers?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by GodricGal, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. GodricGal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #1
    Can you switch RAM between computers?

    I'm about to upgrade to 4gigs (originally have 2), I was recommended to Crucial.com by another Mac user and intend to buy from them.

    Anyway, I have a month old white MacBook 13inch, 2ghz, Intel Duo Core and I want to know if I can give a friend my RAM.

    My friend's computer is a PowerBook G4, 1.33 ghz, PowerPC. She says she think she bought it in 2005, but it might have been 2006.

    Is this possible?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. GodricGal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #3

    Well that's a shame. Thanks for answering my question.
     
  4. buckeye17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #4
    Thought I'd confirm this and also let you know that it's because your Macbook is either DDR2 or DDR3 ram, while her Powerbook is likely DDR.
     
  5. GodricGal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #5
    Ah! Alright, thank you for explaining it in more depth. I understand better now.
     
  6. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    Indeed. You can always check any Mac's specifications on apple-history.com. I just checked, and you friend's PowerBook does indeed use DDR, while your MacBook uses DDR2.
     

Share This Page