Can you try this for me (display flicker unrelated to vega)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ploki, Jan 16, 2019.

  1. Ploki, Jan 16, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019

    Ploki macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    Disable truetone/auto brightness.

    Go to colour, option click "calibrate" to get advanced settings.

    set to full brightness.

    Try to calibrate your display as accurately as possible (follow steps)

    When coming to gamma, try setting it a little darker than native (higher value, 1.7, 1.8?)

    When coming to temperature, try setting it a little cooler than native (6600, 6700?)


    Questions:
    - does the display suddenly turn darker when you save your profile?
    - does the display flicker when you enable/disable "auto adjust brightness" on the new profile?

    Thanks.

    edit:
    I have had this happen on 2 2018 Macs already 13" and 15", spanning from 10.13 to 10.14.2... so i doubt it's a hardware issue
     
  2. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  3. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #3
  4. jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #4
    Seems like a lot of steps to get this issue to occur. I am not surprised it was not discovered previously.
     
  5. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    I routinely do this on all my new macs. :) I prefer a littler darker and a little cooler display.

    I'm surprised that it was discovered over at MBA forums and not here o_O
     
  6. fokmik macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    When i will get to my 2018 models i will try on those too...but even on my late 2018 MBP, even i dont have true tone but if i follow the exact those steps i get a little of flickering. That MBP is on High Sierra, i will try on Mojave on my MBP models later
     
  7. 0-0 macrumors member

    0-0

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #7
    Reading this thread I lol’d. I agree with @jerryk, lots of steps, with specific values to create an issue.
     
  8. fokmik, Jan 21, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2019

    fokmik macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    yes indeed, it is just a minimal issue but still this kind of test it should have been done by Apple's QA team that gets paid for this
     
  9. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #9
    I don't know how specific values need to be really. this is how i usually do it and can be 100% replicatable since this is how I did it on the new 13" as well. However, as far as i know most manual calibrations trigger it.

    I'm aware it's not a huge issue but it's a little bit annoying, i've been doing this on my new macs for the last 10 years.
     
  10. jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #10
    Most people turn on system, and just use it. Few calibrate their displays. I bet fewer than 1 in 1000. I hardware calibrate with a colorimeter, but I bet that is 1 in 10,000 or even fewer because of the costs.

    FWIW, I do not have this issues with hardware calibration.
     
  11. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #11
    Works fine on the Ultrafine with mini too. Must have something to do with auto-brightness and maybe truetone
     

Share This Page