Can you upgrade the GPU on New MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kirbs, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. kirbs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    Just curious, I wanted to know if you can replace the 256mb card with a 512? or is it soldered in like the processor? And for that fact why do they solder in the processor?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    The 9600M GT is soldered onto the logicboard just like the CPU.
     
  3. kirbs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Adding a MXM card and CPU socket is going to make the laptop a little thicker. We all know Apple wants to try for the thinnest laptops around.
     
  5. kirbs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #5
    well, thanks for the reasoning. However, I would rather sacrifice thiness for the ability to future self upgrade...hmm i guess i could always do a board swap to replace my 2.4's with a 2.53's (or 2.8's :D ) and just keep my ram and HD or do they integrate the board into the unibody. Also, is the logic baord just the motherboard?
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I wouldn't get a Mac for that then.

    The logicboard includes the GPU and processor in addition to just the motherboard.

    In the latest models you should be able to replace it entire thing much more easily then in previous models. If you call replacing a laptop logicboard easy.
     
  7. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #7
    That's going to be true for just about any notebook manufacturer. If you want true customizability then you will have the go the route of building your desktop pc or perhaps a Mac Pro.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I did mention MXM video cards.
     
  9. kirbs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #9
    Logic board replacement= no prob, i got some torx, a static pad, and the know how.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I apologize for neglecting to mention iFixit's take about of the new unibody MacBook Pro.
     
  11. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #11
    No you can't unless you replace the whole logic board. I'd rather upgrade the whole MBP. :D
     

Share This Page