can you upgrade to a SSD later?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by btownguy, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. btownguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #1
    I bought a 15" MBP with the 500 Gb 5400 rpm drive last week. Loving it. I heard there were click/beep problems with the 7200 rpm drive and the SSD's were just too expensive. I expect the prices to drop over time. Is it technically possible to install an SSD in a MBP at a later date (and do a fresh install of course)? I doubt there are any different internals of the MBP, but I want to make sure.
     
  2. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #3
    yes you can, just take the old one out and put in a new one...
     
  3. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    As long as it has the same interface, then yes. (and most do. The only ones with this problem are the MBA's).
     
  4. MikeyTree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #5
    I was wondering about this too. My MB is a 15.4", 2.4GHz, from June 2007.
     
  5. coast1ja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #6
    yep, any 2.5" SATA drive will do... there are many to choose from and they are dropping in price. Just be aware that they also differ in speed and reliability, so do your research if you're going this route.

    You can probably sell that 500gb on ebay or craigslist and make up at least a quarter of the cost of a good SSD, it all depends on how much space you need.
     
  6. MikeyTree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #7
    Are they are particular hardware or software changes that need to be made? Or do you plug it into the same sata plug and then format the new drive like you would any other hard drive?

    Also, will it fit properly in a 2007 MBP (with the difficult-to-swap drive) or will something be needed to affix it in the case?
     

Share This Page