Can you use a SDD to boot a G5?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by les24preludes, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. les24preludes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #1
    I have a G5, dual 1.8. The boot drive is original and no doubt pretty slow. It's a 76.34 GB Maxtor 6Y080M0

    What can I do to speed up the boot drive - is SDD an option and if so how do I fit it? Inside or outside the case? Guessing here - never used a SDD drive.

    Andy
     
  2. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #2
    SSDs use the SATA drive interface that your G5's stock boot drive also uses. You can just get an SSD and a 2.5"-3.5" drive adapter, put the SSD in it, and then put it in the G5. Then install OS X like you normally would. It's quite simple, really..
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    You can add an SSD if you want to. You can use an adapter like this to use a 2.5" SSD in a 3.5" HD bay.

    Remember that you will not be able to take the full advantage of an SSD because your PowerMac only has SATA 1.5Gb/s while most SSDs offer greater speeds than SATA 1.5Gb/s can offer. It will still be a big upgrade though as you gain the latency which is the whole point of an SSD
     
  4. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Of course you can.

    Don't think of a SSD being something special. Compatibility wise, it is just a normal hard drive.
    Just pop it in there.
    Apparently you'd need a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter if you buy a 2.5" drive and want to properly mount it.
    You can just pup it in the bay without mounting it, though. That would be the cheapest option.
     
  5. les24preludes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #5
    Are all SATA SSD drives the same and compatible with the G5 or is there some difference between SATA and SATA 2 for instance? Wouldn't want to buy something and find it's not compatible!

    Presumably I just take out the old drive, fit the SSD (with caddy) and the cables re-fit as before?

    Andy
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    SATA I = SATA 1.5Gb/s
    SATA II = SATA 3Gb/s

    However, SATA is backwards compatible so you can use SATA 3Gb/s SSD in SATA 1.5Gb/s port (though you will be limited by the SATA 1.5Gb/s interface). Any SATA drive should work.

    Just take out the old drive and put the new one in it, no tricks required.
     
  7. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    An SSD will appear and work like any other drive. There are no compatibility issues and after installing one in my G5 and I wouldn't go back to a normal mechanical drive for anything but mass storage!
     
  8. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #8
    If you buy an OCZ Vertex2 drive, you can get those in 3.5" size. They are thinner than a standard 3.5" HDD but all the mounting holes are in the correct place.
     

Share This Page