can you use an imac as pc display or a cinema display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Superfly611, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. Superfly611 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #1
    i do some video editing, music, pictures, and email and internet browsing. can i use the imac as a pc display or an apple cinema display for a pc. i still need the pc for some things such as playing world in conflict and company of heroes and some other pc only things. should i just get a mac mini with the apple cinema display or preferably an imac? what have some of you done? i use a kvm switch for my computers each computer for different things. what have some of you done?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    What video outputs does your PC have and what GPU does it have? 27" iMac can be used as a display and so can 27" ACD (or other Cinema Display). However, you need an expensive adapter or GPU with (Mini) DisplayPort, otherwise it won't work.

    I would just get Mini and Dell U2711 so you won't need any adapters or other crap
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Only the 27" iMac, the one introduced last autumn (2009), can be used as an external display, for all the other iMacs you might take a look at ScreenRecycler. As for the Apple Cinema Display, that depends on which model exactly, as some have a DVI cable (works with modern PCs) and some have a MDP cable, which might not work with your PC, unless you have a GPU with MDP-Out.
     
  4. Superfly611 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #4
    Dell XPS 720 has an NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GT

    my Dell XPS 720 has two DVI ports on it (NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GT). The kvm is a VGA switch which I use for my other computers. It all goes to a Samsung SyncMaster 226 BW. My main machine is connected by way of DVI. The kvm is connected to the monitor by way of VGA.

    Also, to spend close to $1000 on just a monitor seems pointless. I'd rather just get an iMac and pay for the converter of whatever's needed. Or keep a small monitor nearby to use for the PC.

    I guess I could also dual-boot the new iMac to have Windows on it (ugh I know).

    Thanks for everyone's help so far, keep it coming.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    The adapter is 200$. I doubt your KVM switch will work with iMac because it has such high resolution (most switches are single-link). Well, it would work but not at native res.
     

Share This Page