Can you use Elgato software with any TV tuner box?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by patent10021, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    Anyone using Pixela Capty TV or Elgato TV in Japan? I want to buy a TV tuner and start recording shows. Not the mobile tuner sticks but full cable.

    Can you use Elgato software on non Elgato tuners? I don't really need the channel guides compatibility. I only need the capability to record the signal and save to Mac Mini or something.

    Thanks
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    Thanks but I already know mine isn't on the list. Pixela Capty TV Hi-Vision. I was sort of wanting to know if anyone is using Elgato software simply to record the signal even though their tuner isn't on the official compatibility list.

    I think the compatibility list is to make sure the Elgato software has the correct channel listings is it not? I mean even if the device isn't on the list and the channel listings are not correct, you could still record the signal with Elgato software could you not?

    I guess what I'm asking is the official compatibility list for the recording function and channel listings or channel listings only?

    The specs for the tuner I found in Japan seem nice. Full 1080p recording etc. I guess I should just buy it because it has its own software for Japan as it is. I was just thinking that maybe the Elgato software might be nicer. The Pixela tuner web site says they have an iPhone app for channels listings too but when I searched the app store it wasn't there. Makes me wonder.


    .
     
  4. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #4
    No. The compatibility list is for the devices El Gato software can communicate to via the hardware drivers included the EyeTV package.

    The only devices I've got to work with EyeTV that are not on the compatibility list are the PC OEM versions of El Gato's tuners (for example the WinTV 950 is the same as El Gato's EyeTV Hybird, etc).
     
  5. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #5
    ok thanks...clears that up....

    So what about using Elgato tuner in Japan even if the default channel listings aren't a match? My goal is simply to record the signal. Don't care about channel matching. If I connect the EyeTV Netstream DTT to my iMac, Mac Mini etc here in Japan will it record any channels I find through manually scanning? Or will that scanning be a problem as well since it's Japan? Btw, do these TV tuners record captions? Are captions on a separate signal?
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    I have the EyeTV Hybrid and I just changed the country setting to Japan and all the digital tuning options disappeared. It might need different hardware, but I can't say for sure.
     
  7. patent10021, Jan 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011

    patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #7
    Hmmm Thanks for looking.

    I was thinking today that these options I've been posting about are for people who want to watch or record TV on their PCs. I just want to record TV while watching on my flat screen so I think I'm better off just going out and buying a real DVR/PVR from LG, Sony or other brand. More money but true and simple recording that I can play back like TIVO. They have 500GB and 1TB models these days so I think that's the best route to go. What do you think?

    This looks good. 2TB! BUFFALO digital tuner HDD high vision recorder HDD2TB DVR-1/2.0T.



    .
     

Share This Page