Can you use iPhone 4 sim card in iPhone JB 3GS

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mjaco002, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. mjaco002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #1
    I was able to jailbreak my iPhone 3GS and it works perfectly fine.

    I also have a iPhone 4 that I activated.

    I want to how I can use the iPhone 4 micro sim card in my JB iPhone 3GS.

    I did get the mirco-sim to sim adapter but when i put the thing in my iPhone 3GS it doesn't give me any connection.

    Can you help??
     
  2. himni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #2
    The sim should work did you try restarting? After I took the sim out of my iPhone 4 and put it back it took a couple minutes before it registered a signal.
     
  3. mjaco002 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #3
    I restarted...i reset the settings. I tried the sim in my wife's phone as well. It worked in her's but i think it was because it was unlocked before.

    Do i have to unlock my 3gs?
     
  4. mallom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    Yes. I'm using right now. I'm not using my Iphone 4 untill I receive the cases I bought. Another reason that I will be using my 3GS is because Im driving to florida next week and I need TOMTOM and tethering (PDANET only).

    :D
     
  5. mjaco002 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #5
    Great...thanks

    I will just unlock the phone and hope everything works...:D
     
  6. OceanView macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #6
    I don't think you have to unlock an AT&T phone to use on their own network do you?
     
  7. jlmitnick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #7
    Not normally, but for iPhones you do... Kinda silly. Kinda defeats the purpose of a sim card in the first place if they don't even normally let you freely transfer among iPhones on their own network!
     
  8. mteahan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #8
    What about cloning the sim?

    If I clone the micro sim card and keep my 3gs for things like tethering and Mywi, I assume I can use both phones so long as only one is on at one time.

    Is there something wrong with this logic?
     
  9. Pheelyx macrumors regular

    Pheelyx

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Brookland, AR
    #9
    I would love to know if this would work too. Wanna clone my sim to use in my old 3g. Already have the micro-sim adapter. But would be nice to not have to swap sims every time I want to tether with MyWi.
     
  10. deenybird macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #10
    Precisely. I'm waiting to know as well.
     
  11. mjaco002 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #11
    Here is a link on how to clone a sim card.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4770451_clone-sim-card.html

    Somebody should try it and tell us if this works.
     
  12. himni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #12
    Modern sims can't be cloned except perhaps by the service provider. Sims issued after 2002 are called V2 cards and have lots of encryption.
     
  13. steezy1337 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Carlisle, UK
    #13
    does anyone know if this is the same for UK networks? i'm with Vodafone with a 3gs and might be swapping for my mums iphone 4 which is also on vodafone so long as i can get them both to work which i haven't completely worked out yet, any help is greatly appreciated.
     

Share This Page