Can You Use Retina MBP as PS3 Monitor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Taylor-C, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. Taylor-C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Okay... I don't know if this is in the right thread - so sorry if it's not!
    I've also searched for an answer, but nothing recent came up.

    So, I use my PS3 only to check how long the titles of Blu-ray Discs are - i.e. the length of a TV Episode, so that I know I am copying the right one to my Mac using MakeMKV.

    Now, I am moving to a Uni campus next month and don't want to take my TV with me, as I'd have to pay a TV Licence (and I only use my TV to use the PS3 to check the Disc title length...). So, I was wondering if I could use my Retina MacBook Pro as a monitor for the PS3 so that I don't have to take a TV with me and pay a licence fee...

    Thanks in advance!

    TL;DR: Have Retina MacBook Pro, can you use it as a Monitor for a PS3?
     
  2. sharkman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    #2
    I assume the HDMI port is HDMI Out only, but I am not 100% on this.
     
  3. tgi macrumors 65816

    tgi

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    #3
    I think you are correct, I've seen numerous people say this exact thing.
     
  4. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    You don't need a TV licence if you're just going to play PS3 and not watch live TV.

    http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/resources/library/BBC/policies/No_Licence_Needed_policy_25Aug2011.pdf

    http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one/topics/what-if-a-tv-licence-is-not-needed-top12/
     
  5. Taylor-C thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
  6. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Yeah double check but it should be ok. :)

    Just don't connect an aerial or anything and it should be fine.
     
  7. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    While there are likely workaround that will let you, I really wouldn't recommend it. Even for single player games there's going to be lag, and forget about playing online. I'm also confused about the TV charge, I presume they do this if you're actually watching TV, but you can't just bring in your own that you'd just watch movies/play games off of? Just never heard of anything like that in the US.
     
  8. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #8
    That's actually how the BBC gets most of its funding.
     
  9. sarthak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Yes you can using an Elgato EyeTV Hybrid or EyeTV HD or any other Matrox Capture Device with a chipset compatible with EyeTV Software or XBMC on OS X.
     
  10. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #10
    What about thunderbolt? there must be some way of turning the signal inwards
     
  11. jafingi macrumors 65816

    jafingi

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    You could also just buy a computer screen without TV tuner, and then a HDMI to DVI adapter :)
     
  12. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #12
    ^ This. Only you'd need a mini display port to HDMI adapter. Doesn't have to come from Apple either. Any generic model should work and be available for 10 quid or less.
     
  13. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #13
    If by that you mean connecting an external HDMI capture device, then yes. If you mean by somehow making a TB port "understand" HDMI, then no.

    All the different ports use different signals and protocols, that's why they are also physically different. There is no magic trick that makes those ports do what they were not designed to do. You need a separate device to transform one form of signal to another.


    No, the rMBP has an HDMI output.
     
  14. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #14
    IANAL but... you should have no reason to ask. The laws surrounding TV licensing clearly state that you only need a TV license if you intend to watch live TV. They can't tell you that you need a license anymore than they can tell you to go to on a health and safety course if you want to use a cheese grater. Just buy a TV if you want to, don't let our ridiculous laws put you off.

    About the Elgato other capture cards, if I recall correctly all the HD Elgatos had too much latency for gaming, however the SD ones are fine. That was according to their site, I'm sure the notice is still up.
     
  15. jafingi macrumors 65816

    jafingi

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    Yeah, the rMBP has a HDMI output. By having a HDMI->DVI, he could both use the external screen as rMBP monitor and PS3 monitor. :)

    If you're lucky, you could maybe also find a newer monitor with HDMI input and speakers. Otherwise you won't get sound from your PS3 (DVI has no sound). Then you'd need to get the sound out from it in another way.
     
  16. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #16
    it's just, it is possible to add a video card to a MacBook Pro Retina via the thunderbolt, and have the card show the image on the internal screen, so it is possible to get video data the other way.. right?
     
  17. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #17
    Because that's so much easier than just bringing the damn TV :p ;)
     
  18. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #18
    Not quite.

    It is not achieved by feeding the signal from the eGPUs display connections to one of the TB ports, but with a special display driver (Optimus or Virtu), that makes it possible to clone the eGPU display output to the laptops built in screen. This results in a slight performance loss compared to using an external display, but is less cumbersome than the other option: using an external capture device.

    This is explained in a bit more detail here: DIY eGPU experiences FAQ, specifically the question "4. Can I make this work using just my notebook's LCD display?"
     
  19. wwe2008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #19
    I spent all year in uni halls watching tv without getting a license! my view was if they ask just plead ignorant :D
     
  20. Astroboy907 macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #20
    Well, if that's all you do with it, why not just buy a blu-ray drive for the mac? There is an app now that plays blu-rays. Or did I just totally misunderstand the problem? :p
     
  21. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #21
    you're missing my point :)

    i meant, if it is possible to reroute a GPU signal back to the internal screen, a playstation "should" be able to do the same. (due to my logic, at least)
     
  22. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #22
    Like I wrote earlier, the signal is not fed through the TB/DisplayPort, but a hacked driver is used. It is not rerouted in any way, because that is not possible.
     
  23. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #23
    Sorry to necropost but has anyone discovered anything that can do this? I have a capture card (see my signature) and I don't have a TV in my room at the moment so when I want to play I open up the capture cards software, since there is no real latency at all it works fine but the software isn't optimized for it obviously...wondering if their is an application where you can view full screen from a thunderbolt capture card...theoretically possible. I know my rMBP doesn't officially support target display mode BUT certain iMacs DO support target display mode so its not unheard of. I can see this useful if you needed to use say a Mac Pro on the set of a video/film shoot and needed more power than your rMBP so you use its monitor and possibly its keyboard and trackpad.

    Ignorance is no excuse to break the law! That said uni's and "TV Licenses"? Don't they greese you enough already!
     
  24. aaron87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    #24
    I use a EasyCap to play / record gaming from my xbox 360 to my MBP, you can easily get one of them cheap from eBay (I paid about £4 for a knock off one)

    Technically you STILL need a TV licence regardless if you have a TV or not, these days nearly everybody either has a laptop / PC or a smart phone which all allow access to BBC iPlayer. This is how they catch you out if you say "I don't even have a TV"

    Also,

    There is no actual law saying you have to pay TV licence, it may be illegal to not pay it, but it certainly isn't unlawful.



    EDIT: oh my, I didn't realise how old this post was... SORRY didn't mean to zombie the post :(
     

Share This Page