Canada iPad Owners - Bell LTE Activation

Discussion in 'iPad' started by numbersyx, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #1
    Has anyone been able to activate LTE with Bell yet? I can't see how to do it. The View Account button is not onscreen. Scratching my head as to how to do it.
     
  2. mingtwo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #2
    Just called Bell, followed instructions for half an hour, but finally, the CS said "View Account" would not appear on a third-gen iPad. The only choice now is to get a plan...
     
  3. numbersyx thread starter macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #3
    This is a bit of a joke. Bell themselves, on their web page, advertise on iPad activation. Surely this must be a technical glitch. If not, I'm heading to Telus...
     
  4. Inopia-Vi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Lost in space
    #4
    Have you tried getting a new sim card especialy for the ipad?
     
  5. jim.bright17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alberta
    #5
    I'm glad I'm not the only one having problems with this. At first i thought maybe I was just being stupid lol Looks like I will have to pick up a telus SIM card. Can anyone confirm they work correctly?
     
  6. Binarymix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #6
    It's the same with Rogers. Spent a half hour on the phone; first activating the sim card then fighting about the new 10GB plan, then finding out I have to get a plan first.

    Good news is he told me it's still month to month, I can cancel at any time. It's not a contract.

    Plans are still cheaper than the states for once, with 10 Gb of data for the first 5 months! (first 2 months unlimited).

    Too bad there's no LTE in my town yet, but they do have 4G (HSPA+).
     
  7. numbersyx thread starter macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #7
    Yes, just checked on the Bell site. They have now amended, in small print, the fact the the iPad activation is only available for iPads 1 and 2. Telus seems to still have it...
     
  8. Ecard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #8
    I just took my sim card from my old iPad 1 and turned on lte and I was able to download at 20+ mB/s :)

    No call to bell
     
  9. WorldIRC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #9
    On-screen activation ONLY applies for prepaid HSPA activations. If you wish to have LTE access, you MUST activate a postpaid plan, through a store or customer service, with an LTE MicroSIM card. If you want prepaid, you will only get HSPA speeds...in these cases, a standard "pre-provisioned" HSPA SIM will work. These SIMs specifically say "pre-provisioned" on them.

    For those that say "Telus still works", it'll be exactly the same as Bell. Prepaid services will NOT be provisioned for access on LTE.
     
  10. Binarymix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #10
    AFAIK it applies to ALL iPads in Canada. LTE or Not.

    Apple dropped the ball on these negotiations.
     

Share This Page