Cancelled 3G Plan & Now 3G Symbol / Account Info. Gone

Discussion in 'iPad' started by newyorksole, May 12, 2010.

  1. newyorksole macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
    #1
    I ran through 250MB in like 3 days and even though my account said "No Domestic Plan" I still had the option to cancel the plan or add more data.

    I decided to cancel the plan, because if I didn't I would be charged another $15 after 30 Days right?

    So since I cancelled, when I go back to View My Account, all my information is cleared out and I no longer have the 3G symbol.

    When you first get the iPad 3G, whether you activate a plan or not, it's still supposed to have the 3G symbol at the top. So why is mine gone after I cancelled the plan?

    And now the only way I can add more data is if I'm connected to WiFi. So was I not supposed to cancel my plan?
     
  2. HelloMikee macrumors 6502a

    HelloMikee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego
  3. Chris.Thomson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #3
    I don't own an iPad yet (or an iPhone for that matter), but I thought the 3G symbol only shows up when you have access to the 3G network in your current location? If you were in a region that has only EDGE access, it'd show an 'E' instead of the 3G symbol.

    Also, I've heard that you can update your data plan over the cellular network even if you don't currently have an active plan. I'm not sure if this part is true or not, but a ton of people are saying it.
     
  4. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #4
    AT&T always allows a person to access the 3G network to activate their plan, this is always available IF there is cellular service to do so.
     
  5. newyorksole thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
    #5
    Yes Cellular Data is switched on and I do have 3G in my area, my iPhone and iPad [ prior to canceling my plan ] have always had 3G.

    When I turn off WiFi and try to add more data it says that it is "Unable to connect to the server at this time"

    I just didn't want to keep being charged so I didn't know what else I was supposed to do if I wasn't supposed to cancel my plan...
     
  6. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    Weird. Did u try to reset? Or at least turn it off and then on?
     
  7. gt1948 macrumors regular

    gt1948

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #7
    When u disable cellular data (3G) or cancel the sysmbol you will see at the top will be iPad and the wifi antenna if connected to a wifi spot.
     
  8. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #8
    Actually, the 3G symbol should show up as long as Cellular Data is turned on in Settings and as long as a 3G network is in range. I had the symbol when I first turned on my iPad. Then I turned Cellular Data off until I need it so I don't see it anymore.

    To the OP, I just turned my Cellular Data switch back to ON and the 3G symbol is not returning for me either. Weird!
     
  9. HelloMikee macrumors 6502a

    HelloMikee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    Next time, instead of canceling, just turn cell data off.
     
  10. Macdicted macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Location:
    NYC > Tampa Bay
    #10
    Just turning it off wouldn't stop AT&T from charging at the end of the month when the new cycle starts.

    Don't believe that is the answer.....you should be able to cancel at anytime and restart whenever needed.
     
  11. calvin2006 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Probably a temporary glitch with AT&T. I doubt they want to limit when you can give them your money.
     
  12. HelloMikee macrumors 6502a

    HelloMikee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego
    #12
    Oops I read it wrong. I thought the OP just wanted to stop 3G until his mb resetted.
     
  13. newyorksole thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
    #13
    Yeah I know.

    Alright NEW DEVELOPMENTS**

    When I cancelled I got one email saying "You have chosen to cancel automatic renewal of data..."

    And then I got another email saying:

    "Your data plan was cancelled at your request or because it has been inactive for an extended period of time.

    If you wish to re-subscribe, please visit Settings on your iPad."

    But I still don't understand why 3G connectivity is gone completely.
     
  14. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #14
    Because you are not paying for it maybe? Not being here snarky.. but 3G service on the iPad is about the $15 or $30 plans and being able to access them.
     
  15. newyorksole thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
    #15
    I understand that, but everyone's iPad 3G comes connected out of the box, and if I want to pay for it and am not near WiFi I should be able to still buy it.

    Anyway...

    I reset my device and now have the 3G symbol back, so I guess it was just a matter of resetting. Not sure why, but I guess that's just how it is.

    Thanks for all the responses!
     
  16. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #16
    I am glad you got it worked out. I asked in another thread and this...


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by emaja
    I just tried it for giggles now and it did disappear. I turned off the WiFi and then turned the cellular data option back on and the 3G symbol re-appeared.



    ...worked for me.

    The key is to turn off the Wifi setting first, then turn Cellular Data to ON.
     
  17. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #17
    Just tried turning on both cellular data and WiFi at the same time, and the WiFi signal symbol does take up the space where the 3G symbol should be. However, I still have the "AT&T" label, and the cellular signal strength bars to the left of that. It's not clear from the OP's post whether just the 3G symbol was missing or the "AT&T"+cellular singal bars had gone missing also.
     
  18. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #18
    So you're saying the wifi symbol overrides the 3G symbol if a wifi is connected. Makes sense, and that's how it works on my iPhone.
     

Share This Page