Candybar icons won't change

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jrsx, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #1
    I am not able to change an applications icon by drag-and-drop into the icon well without a problem - when I do, it always shows the 'preview' icon, which is obviously not what I want. Can anyone help here?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Hmm…I'm not an expert with Candybar. Once you drag and drop, isn't there like an 'Apply' button that you need to press for the change to actually happen?
     
  3. jrsx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #3
    Yes, but when I hit apply it looks like the icon below.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Try using a .ico format icon. I don't think you can drag/drop a .png and expect it to work.
     
  5. jrsx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #5
    I've tried .ico, as well as others exported from preview. No formats work.
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    This has always worked for me…

    open the file you want to use in Preview.
    from the Preview edit menu,-select all, again from the edit menu,-Copy,
    now paste this into your Application icon in the 'Get info section'.
     
  7. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    I don't use png's and ico's with candybar. I only use icns.
     
  8. jrsx, Mar 2, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014

    jrsx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #8
    Nothing works. CandyBar is killing me right now. I tried importing too, and it shows a blank icon that you can click on, but it's completely blank. I wanted to use candybar because when I manually change the icon, Macintosh HD doesn't show the icon png in the preview to the left of the writing (below).
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jrsx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #9
    Can anyone help? I've tried literally everything. I'm building a Mavericks icon collection for PPC, and it won't import to candybar. It just shows black icons when I import or drag anything in.
     
  10. Hughmac macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #10
  11. jrsx, Mar 4, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014

    jrsx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #11
    Hey, thanks! That works a lot better! The only problem is candbar doesn't show the icons as centered in the icon well, but it makes no difference. Thanks!
     

Share This Page