Cannot Adjust Brightness

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dzarc, Jul 19, 2018.

  1. dzarc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #1
    I have a brand new 2018 MacBook Pro 15 inch and I downloaded macOS Mojave. For some reason, brightness is still at full. When I try to adjust it, the bars tick down but brightness does not change. After exiting the brightness adjustment and going back in, it shows the brightness as full again. Has anyone else encountered this issue? I've tried resetting SMC, NVRAM, and PRAM and nothing did the trick. Please help!
     
  2. PeterJP macrumors 6502

    PeterJP

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Leuven, Belgium
    #2
    Have you tried in a more dimly lit room? It shouldn't make a difference, but try it to be sure. If it's still the same, sounds like a visit to the shop to me.
     
  3. dzarc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #3
    It makes no difference. My research suggest maybe the kext is broken but that's too far advance for me to fix.
     
  4. PeterJP macrumors 6502

    PeterJP

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Leuven, Belgium
    #4
    You should definitely not need to fix kexts in a brand new machine :)
     
  5. dzarc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #5
    I wonder if it's because I used migration assistant to transport my stuff.
     
  6. PeterJP macrumors 6502

    PeterJP

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Leuven, Belgium
    #6
    Did you try it before migrating? Did the brightness work then? If so, and if the machine you migrated from had some changes in kexts or other system changes, you might want to reinstall the machine from scratch and work from there.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    I suspect that's the case, try wiping the machine and reinstalling macOS

    btw, I'm able to adjust the brightness on my 2018 MBP
     
  8. Nozuka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #8
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    I completely missed that the OP installed Mojave. I was using Mojave on my iMac and it corrupted my drives, so the point where I needed to reformat and reinstall. I opted to go back to HS and not mess with the beta. So with my MBP, it was a no-brainer - me no touch Mojave
     
  10. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    It's a known issue mentioned in release notes that brightness and GPU switching are broken on Mojave on 2018 laptops. best wait for next beta.
     

Share This Page