Cannot boot after Time Machine System Restore

Discussion in 'macOS' started by floydtheduck, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. floydtheduck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #1
    I am upgrading my hard drive in my MacBook Pro and before removing the old hard drive I backed my time machine up to a NAS (Network Hard Drive). I put in the new drive and booted from the Snow Leopard DVD. I formatted it for HFS+ and then selected the option to Restore System from Full Backup. I selected my network hard drive and all seemed to go well. After clicking restart, the machine restarted, gave me the chime, and then displayed the infamous multi-language kernel panic message with some text in the background.
    Here's a paraphrase of the background text:
    "panic (cpu 0 caller) version mis-match between Kernel and CPU PM @/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1504.9.17/osfmk/i386/pmCPU.c:707
    Backtrace CPU 0,... 4 potential args on stack
    ........
    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: unknown

    Mac OS Version:
    Not yet set

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel version 10.5.0
    System Model Name: MacBookPro5,5"



    Can anyone point me in the right direction?


    Thanks
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Try install 10.6 on your new drive without doing a Time Machine restore.

    You can then decide whether to try a full Time Machine Restore or just restore the folders/apps once it boots up into 10.6
     
  3. floydtheduck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #3
    How do I restore just folders/apps once it boots into 10.6? The only process I know is a full system restore (OS X + all data)
     
  4. cerote macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #4
    It's called migration tool in the utilities in the application folder.
     
  5. floydtheduck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #5
    I just reinstalled 10.6 and I now have all my files and settings as before without having to re-import all my data. I guess the install just repaired whatever was broken?
     

Share This Page