Cannot boot from CD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jacobhb, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. jacobhb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #1
    I am trying to reinstall 10.4.6 and I cannot boot from the CD. I have tried booting using "C," and command, apple, shift, delete. So far no luck.

    When I double click the "Install OS X" icon, i get a "Mac OS X 10.4 cannot be installed on this machine.

    I have a macPro, 4 internal HDs with a 1+0 software raid.

    any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Are you able to boot into the existing system? If so, try using the system prefs -> startup disk and then using the restart button inside the sys prefs window.
     
  3. jacobhb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #3
    The CD drive is not one of the options in the startup disk
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Is this a MP that has two optical drives? Have you tried the other drive?
     
  5. jacobhb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
  6. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #6
    Did you install any firmware updates?

    I thought I recalled something about a firmware update requiring OS 10.4.8. And if true, the shipped with CDs may not work since the new firmware requires 10.4.8.

    Again, not sure, but I thought I read about that.
     
  7. jacobhb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #7
    this is the only firware:
    2007-08-09 23:51:04 -0700: Installed "Mac Pro SMC Firmware Update" (1.1)
     
  8. jacobhb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #8
    I put my 10.4.6 dvd in my girlfriends new iMac and got the same error:

    "Cannot install OS X on this machine..."
     
  9. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #9
    Are you sure this in an Intel installer? I did some digging on the firmware thing and it may not be an issue. But the error your telling us is consistent with trying to use a PPC disc on an Intel mac and vise versa.
     
  10. jacobhb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #10
    Bingo. Thank you unity. I overlooked the obvious... I just can't find my intel version now :/
     
  11. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #11
    Ha! And to think my therapist keeps telling me I am useless!!!
     

Share This Page