Cannot boot into startup select

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dryNoodles, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. dryNoodles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I am trying to boot into startup disk select so I can reinstall OSX.

    When booting, I am holding down the windows key (Not an apple keyboard) and nothing happens, it just goes straight to the log in screen.

    Is there a way to restart and go straight to the startup select screen?

    I'm assuming this has something to do with the non apple keyboard.
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    Hold the [Option] key ([Alt] key on some keyboards) instead.
     
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
    I know this is a silly question; but it is a wired keyboard yes?

    just thought I'd check ;)
     
  4. dryNoodles thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #4
    Yes, this is what I've tried as when I'm using OSX, the alt key is the option key. Its just not working when trying to enter boot select.

    ----------

    Correct, I am using a wired keyboard.
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    In your first post, you said you were holding the Windows key. That will not work. You will need to hold the [Alt] key. The Windows key is the equivalent of [Command] key (aka [Apple] key).
     
  6. TzunamiOSX, Oct 12, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013

    TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
  7. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Is the keyboard connected directly to the computer?

    You can try to reset the SMC and it will probably start finding the keyboard. Shutdown and disconnect power from computer for 15 seconds. Reconnect power, then turn on 5 seconds after reconnecting power.
     

Share This Page