Cannot copy "Data Rescue 3" to USB stick

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by desertman, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. desertman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #1
    I'd like to have a USB stick with a couple of utilities, Data Rescue 3 being one of them. However, it is not possible to copy the application to a USB stick. The copy process gets always interrupted with with the error message "The operation can’t be completed because you don’t have permission to access “Data Rescue 3”".

    I have several times set the rights for the application file to 777 (drwxrwxrwx) and also cleared the ACLs and the xatts. However, when I look at the file with Terminal it shows "drwxrwxrwx@" and the @ usually means that there are still extended file attributes.

    Strange is that I can copy the file from Applications to the Desktop but I cannot copy it from Applications or the Desktop to a USB stick.

    Does anybody know what is going on here and how I can force this file onto a USB stick? I guess it will certainly be possible as root. However, I have had things like this already several times and would like to find a way to copy such a file as a normal (admin) user.
     
  2. desertman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #2
    I found a workaround by compressing the application file, copying the zip file onto the USB drive and decompressing it there. But I still would like to know what is going on here...
     
  3. ezramoore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #3
    Have you tried asking Prosoft? I'm sure they would be more than willing to help.
     
  4. desertman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #4
    I rather don't because I would prefer that they don't try to close the "zip-copy-unzip" hole.

    By the way - Data Rescue works without problems when started from the USB stick.
     
  5. ezramoore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #5
    I doubt that is a hole. I expect that they would be willing to help. I've never read anything in the many TOS that I've agreed to with them over the years saying I had to run DR3 (or any of their software) off of a CD/DVD.
     

Share This Page