Cannot debug Java on the mac!

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Mork, Feb 8, 2011.

1. Mork macrumors 6502

Not sure this is the correct forum for this type of posting, but the problem I'm having is that when I try to debug a Web app in Eclipse, I get the error from the URLClassLoader that...

"The JAR file /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.6.0/classes.jar has no source attachment."

I'm trying to work with the support people there, but haven't heard anything back.

Since Apple controls, for the moment anyway, the Java VM/JDK, I'm wondering if anyone else has had this debugging problem and knows a workaround.

Thanks in advance.

- M

2. wilsonlaidlaw macrumors 6502

wilsonlaidlaw

General Javascript issues since 10.6.4/Java 3

I and a number of other Mac users have been having general Java issues since 10.6.4 and Java 3. As a developer I have been in touch with Apple on this and sent them lots of syslogs, details, screen prints etc. Two of our 3 Intel Macs have this issue with only the MacAir behaving well. None of our PowerPC Macs have the issues. Every time I run file permissions repair, I am getting screeds of corrections on Java files. The symptom is that Javascript buttons don't work on certain websites and like you I cannot de-bug. Apple say after 2 months of correspondence that they cannot duplicate the issue so have closed the file. A real 'head in the sand' attitude. I just hope that Lion will cure it but I am not too optimistic. After all, two years on and at least 4 Airport updates and the "connection timeout" issue is only part cured.

Wilson

3. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

WOW!

I'm tempted to ditch the Mac and just head back to Windows where, although I won't enjoy "being there", at least I can get my job done!

Perhaps I should remain calm and just run my Java stuff in a (Mac) VM session (XP or Linux)?

The strange thing is that I can debug fine using Intelij IDEA on the Mac, but not Eclipse.