Cannot DL iOS 8, says 7.1.2 is up to date

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by dndandrea, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. dndandrea macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    As the title says, iTunes says my iPhone 5 software is up to date with 7.1.2. Is there anyway to get around this or manually download it somewhere else?

    I don't mind waiting, but if it's not working now, it's not going to be working later. Thanks.
     
  2. JeepGC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #2
    Try downloading it directly from your phone in settings, or reopen iTunes. If you're having trouble downloading it from the phone, try restarting it.
     
  3. dndandrea thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #3
    Thanks, just noticed now it does pop up on the phone. However, it requires 4.7GB to install a 1.1GB software update. I don't have that space. I have that space on my computer's hard drive though.

    I have the latest version of iTunes and i'm running Yosemite PB3.
     
  4. threelions macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #4
    There's nothing wrong on your end it's just the servers are getting hammered so there'll be issues for a while until it all calms down.
     
  5. ffnc1020 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #5
    Still can't connect to server on iTunes.
    F it... I'm going to lunch..
     
  6. thedeejay macrumors 65816

    thedeejay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #6
    Same here. Server is probably jam packed. Wait till later this evening, which is what I will do.
     
  7. SgtPepper23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #7
    use Image Capture to manually save your photos to your Yosemite install, since i read there are still some issues using Yosemite and iTunes. I'm presuming you've got a lot a pictures. Delete apps, and voila, update!

    Good luck!
     
  8. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    Servers are being hammered. Give it some time.
     
  9. Hustler1337, Sep 17, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014

    Hustler1337 macrumors 68000

    Hustler1337

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Am getting the same thing, on both iPhone and iTunes :(

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: working now, but Apple's servers seem like they're getting raped left right and centre

    [​IMG]
     
  10. toysoldier88 macrumors member

    toysoldier88

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #10
    OTA Update

    I am trying to update my iPhone 5s OTA but it keeps coming up with an error message :(
     
  11. mtneer macrumors 68020

    mtneer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #11
    Good to know that. Since I don't want to install iOS 8 on my old hardware, if I leave less than that room, iOS 8 will not auto download!
     
  12. CasuallyDressed macrumors 6502

    CasuallyDressed

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #12
    Update now seems to be live on iTunes. But I click the update button and nothing happens...
     
  13. RichP74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #13
    Yeah, they seem to be using some kind of queue system this year.

    Which is fine by me, it's better that some people get it downloaded and get them out of the queue, than a million people hammering it at once and nobody getting the download.
     
  14. Illest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, California.
    #14
    It's live for me now. Time for my Extreme 150 speeds from Comcast to be put to use. :cool:
     
  15. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #15
    For whatever reason, it's "never" available to everyone at once. I got it the first try OTA at 10:40 AM PT.
     
  16. franfran123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #16
    im backing up my iphone and restarting it so maybe it will work :eek:

    ----------

    thats what i am doing right now :apple:
     

Share This Page