Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

drummerlondonw3

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 10, 2008
London
Hi,

My friend has just bought a refurbed macbook and she has tried to get it insured in the UK and they have refused her insurance?

I have no experience of this, can someone please help? Do you even HAVE to declare its refurbished?

All help is very (and slightly urgently) appreciated

D:apple:

marbles

macrumors 68000
Apr 30, 2008
EU mostly
Very strange imo....Have you tried to insure as part of your house contents insurance ?.
My guess is that if you get some house insurance (if you haven't already) it'll be insured with that-or could be if you ask them .

Most policy's have certain criteria that allow xxx many of certain items to be insured at one property or if you have a specialized item , such as a collection of some sort....those are usually extra on top of the insurance but ye it's a computer .....refurb or not it has a value and as such can be insured along with house contents insurance, get on the phone/net and search a few out.

As far as I am aware some contents insurance covers for accidental damage as well as theft, which is what I imagine your looking to insure it for.

Only thing to remember is to have the machine specifically mentioned along with it's insurance 'type' on any paperwork....write a letter to the company after it's all set up , just to confirm everything...some insurance firms employ nothing more than charlatans in suits.

Remember...get everything in writing :)

oh , and post back let us know how you get on -I'm sure others here will be interested in the cover you get and with which company's the best offers are with

me included ;)

hope this helps.

Sweetfeld28

macrumors 65816
Feb 10, 2003
Buckeye Country, O-H
are you talking about from a Insurance company, or through AppleCare?