Cannot Install Windows, Partition Error

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by LeeH22, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. LeeH22 macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a copy of Windows 10 pro I'm trying to install on my early 2015 13" mac book pro.

    I have formatted the USB drive and placed the image on it.

    I come unstuck when selecting the partition, please see the error below. I did click format too.

    [​IMG]free upload image

    I ran with the suggestion on this link but I just ended up with a black screen with a white crossed out circle. I re installed the OS and my mac worked again.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/bootcamp/comments/3t7yai/we_couldnt_create_a_new_partition_or_locate_an/

    So basically I'm out of ideas, I have followed the official apple guide to the letter and it just wont work.

    Thanks in advance,

    Lee.
     
  2. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Ive done that.

    Its the first thing google brings up.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Did you format the partition intended for windows as NTFS? Bootcamp creates a FAT partition but Windows needs NTFS
     
  4. DeltaMac, Dec 26, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2016

    DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    What is the "OSXRESERVED" partition that is only 7.5GB?

    Which partition is the one that you want to use for Windows?
    How much space did you want to use for your Windows partition?

    Did you use the Boot Camp assistant to create that partition?

    You have a Mac. Looks like you don't want to use OS X at all. :D
    Is that correct?
     
  5. siddhartha macrumors regular

    siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virgina
    #6
    I've had a lot of issues with getting it properly installed. If you want a dual-boot system, you need to use BootCamp Assistant to create the partition. You need to make sure your PRAM and VRAM are clean. You need to install it on the proper partition created by BootCamp Assistant. Only then will it work correctly, without much fuss.
    Also make sure none of your ports are in use-that can be an issue.
     
  6. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #7
    In my experience, maflynn has the answer. You have to format the partition again as NTFS.
     
  7. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    I did what was prompted by boot camp by following the instructions on the apple site.

    It asked you to choose a size of the partition, point it towards the location of the image and thats it.

    It then downloads some more 'stuff' for windows then you get to the image I posted.

    Thanks.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 30, 2016 ---
    No idea.

    I can only presume BOOTCAMP is the partition that bootcamp created.

    Yes i want use OS X but I need windows for a few things and I only want 1 computer in the house.

    Thanks.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Try formatting the BOOTCAMP partition to NTFS and then continue on in the windows installation process.

    Like I said, Bootcamp only formats it to FAT, but Windows requires NTFS, if you didn't reformat the drive to NTFS, windows will not install.
     
  9. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Ok...

    I have re formatted my mac book by following the instructions on the apple site 'get your mac book ready for selling'

    Its now got worse, don't even get that far anymore. I just get the error 'cannot partition the drive'

    What gives! This mac book is practically brand new, hardly used with nothing on it and it just doest do what its supposed to do. :(

    So far I have done.

    1. Used boot camp and followed the instructions.
    I Got the error in the pic in my first post.

    2. PRAM reset.
    I got a black screen with a white circle in. I had to reinstall the OS.

    3. Reformatted
    New message 'cannot partition this drive'

    4. Started in single user mode and typed /sbin/fsck -fy
    Nothing....

    :(:(:(
    --- Post Merged, Dec 30, 2016 ---
    I now cannot make a partition using bootcamp.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    You cannot make a partition or you cannot format it?

    You format it via the windows installer.
     
  11. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Ok, now I can get to the stage in the picture in my first posts.

    I selected the BOOTCAMP partition, pressed format and off it went. (I have tried this before)

    Then it said it couldn't continue and asked me to restart, which I did.

    Now I have this everytime I re boot.

    [​IMG]image url upload
     
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Hold down the option key when rebooting and you can select the partition to boot into. This will get you back into OSX at the very least
     
  13. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Nope afraid not. Still the same.

    2 choices, 'untitled' and 'Windows

    Windows says it will restart due to a problem.

    Untitled is the black screen.
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #15
    I wonder if you reformatted the wrong partition, i.e., reformatted the OS X partition
     
  15. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16

    I'll re install the OS....AGAIN! And report back.

    Thanks for your support maflynn

    Lee.
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #17
    I'm trying - sorry that you're dealing with so much issues :(

    When reinstalling OS X, re-partition the drive to a single partition via the disk utility, so you basically start off fresh
     
  17. LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #18
    Will do.

    I cannot do any damage can I like completely wiping the core brains of it?
    --- Post Merged, Dec 30, 2016 ---
    Right,

    Step 1.

    Reinstall the OS
     

    Attached Files:

  18. LeeH22, Dec 30, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016

    LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #19
    I ran boot camp and got to this stage.


    [​IMG]windows 7 print screen

    So I formatted boot camp

    [​IMG]upload pictures online

    Now it's not called BOOTCAMP and I get the above error.
     
  19. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #20
    Still would like to know what that OSXRESERVED partition is.

    I'm thinking that you have too many partitions on your hard drive, more than the Windows installer will allow.
    The OSXRESERVED partition may be the problem.

    If you boot to OS X, then run your Boot Camp assistant, will it let you remove the boot camp partition?
    If it will not let you remove the boot camp partition, you will likely need to reformat your hard drive and reinstall OS X (start over from scratch)
     
  20. LeeH22, Dec 30, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016

    LeeH22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeeH22

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #21
    Hi Delta Mac

    I have no idea, they are all default partitions.

    No, BOOTCAMP is very simple. It asks you to choose the partition size and select the location of the ISO. That's it!

    I have done 4 complete formats and re installations today! Everytime BOOTCAMP puts the same 5 partitions back.

    Anyhow, I know what it is.

    You have to remove the flash drive after reformatting the BOOTCAMP partition and pressing next.

    Wow, simply wow.

    Why is that not in apples tutorials.

    I'm speachless.

    Thank you all for your time in helping me. I'm sure I'll be back soon with more mac woes.

    Lee.
     
  21. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #22
    I think the Boot Camp assistant will show different "looks" on different Macs, and also different Windows installs will behave slightly differently.
    You simply found what works for YOU, and that same tip may not help the next person, plus, at that point you are running the Windows installer, and beyond what boot camp does to the system.

    That still does not explain what the OSXRESERVED partition is. I have installed Windows 10 through Boot Camp on several different Macs, and that partition never shows up. it's not your flash drive, as that would appear with a different drive number. It's a partition on your storage drive. I'm not convinced that the Boot Camp assistant is creating it, either.

    The main tip that I wanted to offer, was that if Windows doesn't install for some reason, or you get a variety of errors reported, then a good next step is to boot back into OS X, and run Boot Camp assistant, which will give you the choice to remove or delete the boot camp partition, basically restoring the hard drive to OS X-only partition.
     
  22. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    FWIW, I had issues with Bootcamp, and my iMac. I thought it was because of my Fusion drive and there was an issue with the current drivers that Apple supplied (not updated to support the Anniversary edition of Win10). I finally gave up and went another route.
     

Share This Page