Cannot load webpages - please help!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Zombie_Chick, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. Zombie_Chick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm new on here but really hoping someone can help as I've been searching forums for three hours trying to fix this problem!

    Basically suddenly esterday my iMac stopped displaying webpages (I use Chrome but this issue affects other browsers too). My router is fine I think (rest of devices all working ok with WiFi) and the mac seems fully operational (eg Plex Server is working via TV, other programs open find) but when I browse to any url, I get either "The webpage is not available" or "No data received" (in Chrome).

    I've booted into Safe Mode and I can connect fine in there (except the screen flickers in a weird way). Ive removed all cookies/history etc., changed my MTU settings to 1400 as one thread suggested (whatever they are) and checked Chrome accepts incoming connections on the Firewall (it does, but I removed and readded just to be sure).

    Still no joy. Is there anyone out there who might have some advice please? I have a 2010 iMac running OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 if that helps.

    Thanks.

    ZC
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    How about providing a URL or two that won't load, so others can try?
     
  3. Zombie_Chick thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
  4. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You could try adding 8.8.8.8 to your list of DNS addresses in case your regular one isn't working. You could also try opening a terminal window and issuing the command 'ping 8.8.8.8' to check whether you can actually get onto the internet.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    That is a big clue. Safe mode stops any login or startup items from launching. So if it works in safe mode, but not in normal mode, that tells us you have a startup or login item blocking access.

    Install and run the app Etrecheck. It will create an anonymized report showing all launch items. Post that report here so we can have a look and help you.
     
  6. Zombie_Chick thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #6
    Thanks. I think I've figured out how to add 8.8.8.8 (it's replaced the one already there, right?) but nothing has changed.

    I've pinged 8.8.8.8 as well and am getting responses, so that's a good thing I hope?
     
  7. Zombie_Chick thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #7
    Thanks Weaselboy. I know I'm probably being dim, but how can I download/install Etrecheck if I can't browse to any websites?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Start in safe mode then download the app. Then restart in regular mode and install then run the app and save the report. It is important you are not in safe mode when you run the report.
     
  9. Zombie_Chick thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #9
    OK thanks. Attached is the report it produced....fingers crossed it helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10

    My first guess is that Qustodio proxy server (parental control) software you have running there. A safe mode boot would stop that from loading and therefore stop the proxy server I suspect is blocking your access.

    Go through and remove everything related to Qustodio then restart and see if that fixes it. This should help you.

    If that does not fix it, my next guess would be all that Sophos stuff. Sophos, in addition to AV scanning, often installs Internet filtering software that can block your connection.
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #11
    OP:

    Just wondering, is the iMac connected to the router via ethernet, or are you connecting via wifi?

    IF you are connecting with wifi, I suggest that you plug the iMac into the router using ethernet instead. If you have to physically move it, do that.

    Does a wired connection change anything?
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    This is not a hardware or physical connection problem. OP explained the connection works in safe mode and does not work in regular mode. That means he has a login or startup item blocking the connection.
     
  13. Zombie_Chick thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #13
    Correct Weaselboy - you're definitely onto something (oh, except I'm a 'she' ;-) ). After lots of fiddling about, I'm pretty sure it's Qustudio that's the issue - it wouldn't cleanly uninstall so I reinstalled it fully (to attempt another uninstall) and voila, the webpages are fine. Until I reboot, then I'm back to square one with nothing doing...

    Don't fancy reinstalling QuStudio after each reboot, so I reckon I'll just contact them and see if they have any ideas.....

    Thanks all for your help, at least I've narrowed it down and am further along.
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    LOL... sorry about calling you a he. :oops:

    Now that we are more certain what is up.... let's just nuke that QuStudio thing from orbit!

    Download and install the free app iFileX. This is a file search app that will look inside all the system folders by default. Then reboot to safe mode again so QuStudio is not running, then use iFileX to search for the term QuStudio and delete everything it finds. Then restart normally. That should kill it for good.
     

Share This Page