Cannot play videos inside iphoto events

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rikscha, Oct 17, 2013.

1. rikscha macrumors 6502a

I have been using a Panasonic DMC-TZ10 camera for the last 2 years or so for taking pictures and videos.

At the time I bought the camera, iPhoto would not allow me to import videos and I had to import them to iMovies. Couple of months later after an iphoto update, I could finally import videos straight into iphoto events. All videos after that update play fine on the Apple TV but all the other videos that I later copied over from iMovie to iphoto do not and I am presented with a gray question mark on my ATV2 (latest iOS version).

All the videos that I imported from iMovie -> iPhoto work within the app on my Mac.

I am a bit puzzled, given that Apple TV is capable of playing all my latest videos taken with the very same camera, but cannot play the older ones.

Any ideas and would it help to upload one of my videos for someone to check its codec infos.

Thanks.

2. dgalvan123 macrumors 6502a

HOW did you copy them over from iMovie to iPhoto?

If you just drag/dropped them from the iMovie window to iPhoto, it's possible that iPhoto just has a soft link to the location of that iMovie clip or project. And the Apple TV can't easily play video that is stored in Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC), which is how iMovie clips and projects are stored. AIC is a very VERY high bit rate format, and ATV probably can't handle streaming that from your computer.

Whenever you import a movie from your camera into iMovie, iMovie auto-converts the file format from the original to AIC. The benefit of AIC is it allows you to very easily and quickly skim through end edit the video when you are working with it in iMovie. But for playback and streaming you'll want to export from iMovie into a lower bit rate format.