cannot restore my mac with lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by sleimac, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. sleimac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #1
    i want my mac to have a fresh start again and i cannot start the mac lion restore ultility when i press the command-R key during mac start up. i have tried numerous times, however it always leads me to the login screen. does anyone how to fix this problem or another way to restore my mac? thx.

    mac spec:
    osx lion 10.7
    2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
    4GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 256 MB
     
  2. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    Try holding down the Option key (keep it held down) at a restart until you are given a choice of which partition to boot to. Choose the Recovery HD.

    -Kevin
     
  3. sleimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #3
    still nothing. i tried the opt key, opt-R key, control-R key, and cmd-R key, still leads me to the login screen
     
  4. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    Once logged in....open Terminal and type:

    diskutil list

    Copy/paste the results here. Trying to see whether you have a Recovery HD partition or not.

    Assuming you installed Lion over Snow Leopard?

    -Kevin
     
  5. sleimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #5
    i did install lion over snow leopard and here is the terminal reading:
    /dev/disk0
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *320.1 GB disk0
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 319.2 GB disk0s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
     
  6. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    Well....the Recovery HD is there.

    So when you reboot.....the second the screen goes black....do you press and hold the option key? And keep it held until a screen pops up with boot choices?

    Beyond that....sorry, I don't have any other ideas. Hopefully someone can chime in.

    -Kevin
     
  7. sleimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #7
    no i press down the keys when the apple logo first appears during the start up sequence
     
  8. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    Have to press before the logo appears.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1310

    -Kevin
     
  9. sleimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #9
    wow, that was very dumb of me. thanks a lot for your patience and help
     
  10. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    No problem....glad it worked out!

    -Kevin
     

Share This Page