Cannot run Virtual PC and i need to run an exe? any help plz?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Jonno212, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. Jonno212 macrumors newbie

    Jonno212

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I read somewhere that virtual PC won't work on intel based macs and i think thats the case with me! Just downloaded it from apple and it doesnt want to install!

    I need to run a .exe for a patch of this program how would i go about this problem please?

    Or failing that does anyone have traktor scratch pro for the mac coz i need a patch haha! :D

    Thanks
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You can't run an exe without Windows, as the file is a worthless format outside the Microsoft world.
     
  3. Jonno212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jonno212

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #3
    so i would need a copy of windows and boot camp then basically! sweet! More agro

    Cheers for the reply tho
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    The only other small possibility is using Wine. But that's not too likely if it's something like a hardware patching tool. So yes, you'd need Windows.
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    You only need to run a .exe to patch a program if it is a Windows program. Exactly which .exe file did you download from Apple and why?
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #8
    I have the same questions.

    But to the OP, if you want to run Windows on an Intel Mac, here are some options:

    - Bootcamp and run XP or Vista natively.

    - Virtualization via VMware or Parallels.
     
  7. mongrol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #9
    pfft, www.virtualbox.org is free and perfectly up to the job.
     
  8. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #10
    I have not tried Virtual Box. May give it a try one of these days.

    VMware and Parallels are pretty good. They both can share a Bootcamp installation.

    Can Virtual Box do this?

    P.S. FWIW, I don't appreciate the pfft comment.
     
  9. mongrol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #11
    Sorry about the pfft, no offense meant. I see so many people recommending the two main players but missing out a good free alternative. Virtualbox can use a bootcamp partition but its not a click-n-go solution. It needs the configuring and mounting of a raw disk. You can however, use the Fusion demo to convert a bootcamp disk to a .vmdk then mount that in Virtualbox.
     
  10. primape08 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #12
    Virtual box is the best free option to run a virtual machine.
     

Share This Page