Cannot see NAS from Time Machine

Discussion in 'macOS' started by FBDiver, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. FBDiver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #1
    I have a Buffalo Networks NAS on my home network, and I'm connected to it on my mac (with OSx 10.5) sending files back and forth no problem. But when I go to turn Time Machine on and configure it, the dialog for selecting a destination drive is empty and I don't see any way to browse for a network drive.

    Am I missing something?
     
  2. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #2
    Time Machine will not work on any network-attached storage unless it's HFS+ on Leopard being shared via AFP (not SMB).
     
  3. FBDiver thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #3
    I see... looks like I have some work to do.

    Thanks!
     
  4. gvegastiger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #4
    There's a thread around here somewhere with a script that you can run from Terminal that lets Time Machine use an unsupported volume. I used it for my SimpleShare and it now backs up there.
     
  5. paleck macrumors 6502a

    paleck

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    with the Tequila!
    #5
    Probably this post:
    It even got dugg.
     
  6. gvegastiger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
  7. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #7

    *bows*
     
  8. paleck macrumors 6502a

    paleck

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    with the Tequila!
    #8
    Were your ears/eyes burning? :D
     
  9. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #9
    Yep.
    :D
     
  10. FBDiver thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #10
    Great! I'll give it a try tonight.

    I went to the support site at Apple and they don't even mention NAS's in the What kind of Drives can Time Machine backup to. I submitted a question/feedback on the support site.
     
  11. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #11
    Do a search on the ReadyNAS threads. It talks about how to create the sparsebundle and set the drive up. Works well after that though.
     
  12. FBDiver thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #12

    Worked perfectly! :D
     
  13. gvegastiger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #13
    Anyone know how to read from that backup now? I was able to write to the volume and create a sparse bundle, but suffered a hard drive failure and now I need to mount it and retrieve a file. Is there a script for that?
     
  14. FBDiver thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #14
    I've been having nothing but trouble with this setup. I quite using it until I hear more from Apple on the subject.

    Sorry can't help.
    :(
     
  15. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #15
    Depends on how you are trying to get to the data. If you are trying to browse the backup from another Mac on your network, mount the host drive and then look for a file in the root directory called yourcomputername_yourMACaddress.sparsebundle. If you doubleclick this sparse disk image, it will mount and you can surf through it to retrieve individual files.

    If you are trying to do a full restore back onto your mac after the hd failed, you use the Time Machine backup in concert with your Leopard Install Disk.

    1) Boot the Leopard Install Disk
    2) Select Terminal from Utilities
    3) ping your NAS box to make sure you have connectivity
    4) Create a mount point for your NAS box, i.e "mkdir /Volumes/nas"
    5) Mount your backup drive manually
    For AFP, use "mount_afp afp://username:password@NAS_IP_ADDRESS/NAS_volume_name /Volumes/nas"
    Presumably if you use Samba, you could mount with mount_smbfs instead. I use AFP and the above syntax worked.
    6) Make sure the sparsebundle file mentioned above is in the root directory: "ls /Volumes/nas"
    7) Exit terminal, "exit"
    8) Select "Restore from Backup disk" from the Utilities (?) menu and you should see your backup listed

    Paraphrased from somewhere else on the net.. I used this process for a restore and it worked for me! Good luck!
     
  16. avalys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    #16
    I can't believe anyone would be so stupid as to use an undocumented, unsupported, intentionally-disabled feature to handle their backups.

    Apple removed the network backup functionality for a reason, folks. They didn't want people to use it. Finding the hidden setting that enables it doesn't fix whatever bugs or problems caused them to take it out at the last minute.
     
  17. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #17
    Your point is valid but you could have made it without being disrespectful.

    Speaking only for myself, I've weighed the risks of using this unsupported functionality. Without network backup capability, Time Machine is entirely worthless to me. With this enabled, it complements my backup strategy nicely, thank you. Your mileage may vary.
     
  18. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #18
    Mine has been working flawlessly. That's what I bought the NAS for... It's certainly not my ideal solution, but it works and I'm covered until full support shows up...
     
  19. silvarbullet1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #19
    Apple are greedy?

    You might consider Apple simply being incredibly greedy, and forcing people to buy the Time Capsule as their only viable, fully-functioning NAS Time Machine solution?

    I'm just annoyed that I bought a 500Gb NAS and now it's pretty much useless, as all I wanted to use it for was Time Machine. Guess it's just gonna gather dust until such time I need a NAS to share files rather than just back them up...
     

Share This Page