Cannot see new Hardrive on desktop

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by silverrob67, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. silverrob67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #1
    I installed a 550GB WD harddrive for my G5(1.6Ghz). I looked up info on computer and it showed drive was connected, but I could not see it on desktop, and I cannot install Tiger. Help Please. Also, I had system look for network(forgot specific), now all I see when I boot up is a globe. How can I get out of this?:eek:
     
  2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #2
    have you formatted the HD for mac os extended?
     
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    Just to make sure, you do have it set in Finder preferences to show HD's on the desktop?
     
  4. silverrob67 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #4
    Oops! I did not. I'm a novice at this. How do I do that?
     
  5. silverrob67 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #5
    I will follow up on the Finder preference as well.
     
  6. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #6
    open disk utility select your new HD, hit the erase tab on the top, then go down and click the drop down box selecting mac os extended ;)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page