Cannot update OSX

Discussion in 'macOS' started by potlatch, May 7, 2007.

  1. potlatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    #1
    Software update... is not connecting when I go to update my Apple software.

    The OS came with the computer (MBP), so no licensing issues. It has worked in the past, and I know I have my network set up properly. Network Diagnostics also confirms this.

    The error message I get is:

    Has anyone encountered this and know how to fix it?
     
  2. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #2
    Connect to the Internet? When you open Safari are you online?
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    If so, try manually downloading the update(s) to see if it's a problem with the connection to Apple. Also, if the internet is working then find and delete com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist from the Preferences folder. :)
     
  4. offwidafairies macrumors 6502a

    offwidafairies

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    Connected to internet, but no Safari and no Software Updates

    I recently changed ISP and set up my router. Since then I can connect to the network and Firefox works fine surfing the net. However neither Safari nor Software Updates can connect. It is driving me crazy. I get this error message in SU: Software Update can't check for updates because of a network problem.

    I have tried turning off the firewall, deleting plists and restarting. Any other ideas? Much appreciated - thanks
     
  5. Sergeant Pepper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #5
    Try going to System Preferences > Network > Advanced > Proxies, and make sure that all of the checkboxes next to the proxies are unchecked.
     
  6. higg0060 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minne-snow-ta
    #6
    Worked for Me

    I was having the same issue, which felt like it came out of the blue.

    Firefox worked but Safari, iTunes, Software Update and Lotus Notes were not functional. Thanks for the help.
     
  7. snowmoon macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #7
    Your ISP is probably using http proxies. Firefox can, often, autodetect them while the other software listed are probably using the system defaults. Contact your ISP to determine what network changes need to be made.
     

Share This Page